ARC Review – No Angel by Helen Keeble

Title: No Angel
Author: Helen Keeble
Series: No
Source: Received for review from Edelweiss
Release Date: 10/8/2013

 Description from Goodreads:

Rafael Angelos just got handed the greatest gift any teenage boy could ever dream of. Upon arriving at his new boarding school for senior year, he discovered that he is the ONLY male student. But what should have been a godsend isn’t exactly heaven on Earth.

Raffi’s about to learn that St. Mary’s is actually a hub for demons-and that he was summoned to the school by someone expecting him to save the day. Raffi knows he’s no angel-but it’s pretty hard to deny that there’s some higher plan at work when he wakes up one morning to discover a glowing circle around his head.

Helen Keeble’s debut novel, Fang Girl, has been praised for its pitch-perfect teen voice, and VOYA called it “refreshing and reminiscent of Louise Rennison’s Confessions of Georgia Nicolson series.” No Angel brings you angels and demons like you’ve never seen them-complete with the wry humor of Vladimir Tod, sinfully irreverent romance, and some hilariously demonic teenage dilemmas.

Review

I received a copy from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

I’m having such a hard time writing this review because even 2 days after finishing, I’m still not really sure how I felt about it. I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t love it either. I guess I’d say it was just okay, but I’m having a hard time thinking of any specifics.

No Angel was a little bit confusing. It starts off with Raffi coming to his late mother’s old school, St. Mary’s for the first year that they’ve started admitting males. When he gets there, he meets Faith and “falls in love”…until he finds out she’s the Headmistress’s daughter. Then he quickly changes his mind and is instantly attracted to Michaela, the bad girl. However, he soon realizes that Michaela is the bad girl and seems to be into Faith again.

Also, the characters didn’t really do much for me, except for maybe Krystal, but even that took a while. Michaela was a mean girl. Faith was an obnoxious, doormat who believed everything and let everyone walk all over her. Raffi, our narrator, wasn’t really unlikable, but I didn’t find him likable either, if that makes any sense. I don’t know; I just couldn’t connect to him at all.

In the beginning of reading, No Angel reminded me a little of Hex Hall, mostly because it deals with paranormals at a boarding school. There’s an evil at the school that needs to be overcome, and our narrator seems to be the only one who can do it. However, that’s where the similarities ended. I just didn’t really think that the plot worked overall. Even the twists and “surprises” didn’t really strike me, and the I found the ending to be a bit predictable and disappointing.

I know this review is fairly negative, but I didn’t hate No Angel. Like I said before, I thought it was okay. I never once seriously thought about DNF’ing it, though I will admit that I wouldn’t have been too upset if I had had to for some reason. It wasn’t a bad story, and it had some good moments, but I just couldn’t connect to it.

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

One thought on “ARC Review – No Angel by Helen Keeble

  1. […] No Angel by Helen Keeble (2 stars) […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 287 other followers