Review – My Ex From Hell by Tellulah Darling

Title: My Ex From Hell
Author: Tellulah Darling
Series: The Blooming Goddess Trilogy #1
Next Book: My Date From Hell
Source: Personal Purchase

Description from Goodreads:

Sixteen-year-old Sophie Bloom wishes she’d been taught the following:
a) Bad boy’s presence (TrOuBlE) + teen girl’s brain (DraMa) = TrAuMa (Highly unstable and very volatile.)
b) The Genus Greekulum Godissimus is notable for three traits: 1) awesome abilities, 2) grudges, and 3) hook-ups, break-ups, and in-fighting that puts cable to shame.

Prior to the Halloween dance, Sophie figures her worst problems involve adolescent theatrics, bitchy teen yoga girls, and being on probation at her boarding school for mouthy behaviour. Then she meets bad boy Kai and gets the kiss that rocks her world.

Literally.

This breath stealing lip lock reawakens Sophie’s true identity: Persephone, Goddess of Spring. She’s key to saving humanity in the war between the Underworld and Olympus, target numero uno of Hades and Zeus, and totally screwed.

Plus there’s also the little issue that Sophie’s last memory as Persephone was just before someone tried to murder her.

Big picture: master her powers, get her memories back, defeat Persephone’s would be assassin, and save the world. Also, sneak into the Underworld to retrieve stolen property, battle the minions of Hades and Zeus, outwit psycho nymphs, slay a dragon, rescue a classmate, keep from getting her butt expelled from the one place designed to keep her safe …

… and stop kissing Kai, Prince of the Underworld.

My Ex From Hell is a YA romantic comedy/Greek mythology smackdown. Love meets comedy with a whole lot of sass in book one of this teen fantasy romance series. Compared to Kai and Sophie, Romeo and Juliet had it easy

Review

After receiving an offer to review the sequel, I looked up the description of My Ex From Hell and thought it sounded really interesting, so I bought a copy and requested the ARC of the sequel. Since the sequel is coming out at the end of this month, I decided to read My Ex From Hell now.

I thought the beginning of My Ex From Hell was really interesting. It starts off with Sophie writing an email to Demeter, talking about the revelations she has made. Then it goes back and actually tells us how these revelations came about and the aftermath. It only took a couple chapters to get there, so it’s not like we’re starting at the end of the story and then backtracking.

I really liked the writing style. It’s told in first-person narrative from Sophie’s perspective, and I really liked her voice. She talked like she was just relaying this story to a friend, so it had a very casual, conversational tone. Given the story’s progression, I thought it really worked.

My Ex From Hell had a really interesting cast of characters. Sophie’s best friend is Hannah, a hot geek, which was just hilarious. The mean girl, Bethany, is the epitome of spoiled, beautiful bully, but rather than your typical cheerleader, she’s into Yoga. I just thought that was an interesting change of scene. Add in a cast of supernatural, mythical beings (including a hot teenage god), and I thought it was really great.

I felt like part of the story slowed down a bit since there was a lot of exposition and introduction needed, but it never really left me bored or uninterested. It just made me more anxious to see what else was going to happen.

Once everything was all set up and we got into the main conflict and climax of the book, I found it really interesting. Things didn’t resolve themselves too easily, and there were definitely some twists and turns to keep things interesting.

The ending itself, however, was a bit of a cliffhanger, so I am very anxious to read the next book. Overall, I thought it was great, though. It cleared up most of the questions and problems of this book but also set up some new ones for the next book.

Overall, I thought that My Ex From Hell was an interesting take on Greek Mythology. In some ways, it actually reminded me of the Percy Jackson series, though with a female lead, and a little more romance thrown in. I would definitely recommend it.

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Review – My Ex From Hell by Tellulah Darling

  1. WWW Wednesday #48 | Mommy's Reading Break October 16, 2013 at 9:27 am Reply

    […] the past week, I finished My Ex From Hell and My Date From Hell, both by Tellulah Darling. My review of Ex went up Monday, and my review of Date will go up on the […]

  2. […] my goodness. If you read my review for My Ex From Hell, you’ll know that I liked it but wasn’t in love with it. There was […]

  3. […] My Ex From Hell by Tellulah Darling (3.5 stars) […]

Leave a comment