ARC Review – My Date From Hell

Title: My Date From Hell
Author: Tellulah Darling
Series: Blooming Goddess Trilogy #2

Previous Book: My Ex From Hell
Next Book: My Life From Hell (expected 2014)
Source: Received for review from the author
Release Date: 10/31/2013

 Description from Goodreads:

Sophie Bloom’s junior year has been a bit of a train wreck. After the world’s greatest kiss re-awakened Sophie’s true identity as Persephone (Goddess of Spring and Savior of Humanity), she fought her dragon-lady guidance counselor to the death, navigated mean girl Bethany’s bitchy troublemaking, and dealt with the betrayal of her backstabbing ex, Kai (sexy Prince of Darkness). You’d think a girl could catch a break.

Yeah, right.

With Zeus stepping things up, it’s vital that Sophie retrieve Persephone’s memories and discover the location of the ritual to stop Zeus and Hades. So when Aphrodite strikes a deal that can unlock Sophie’s pre-mortal past, what choice does the teen goddess have but to accept?

The mission: stop media mogul Hermes from turning Bethany into a global mega-celebrity. The catch? Aphrodite partners Sophie and Kai to work together … and treat this suicide mission as a date. Which could work out for Sophie’s plan to force Kai to admit his feelings for her–if she doesn’t kill him first.

Add to that the fact that BFF Theo’s love life and other BFF Hannah’s actual life are in Sophie’s hands, and suddenly being a teenager—even a godlike one—seems a bit like … well, hell. Whatever happened to dinner and a movie?

The YA romantic comedy/Greek mythology fireworks continue to fly inMy Date From Hell. Love meets comedy with a whole lot of sass in book two of this teen fantasy romance series. Breaking up is easy; dating is deadly

Review

I received a copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Oh my goodness. If you read my review for My Ex From Hell, you’ll know that I liked it but wasn’t in love with it. There was some cheesy parts, and I wasn’t really sure what to expect from the sequel. Let me just reassure you now that the sequel is SO much better! It started off with a bang and just amped everything up.

When we left Sophie at the end of Ex, she had just been kidnapped by Zeus. And Date picks up with her fighting for her life to try to escape from Olympus. Needless to say, escaping from one of the big 3 Greek gods doesn’t go so well, and Sophie ends up locked up. But she isn’t alone. At this point, she is reunited with Kai, and I had such mixed feelings about it because of the way things were left at the of the Ex. However, this scene alone illustrated for me that Kai was not what I expected and was going to be so much different in this book!

I was a little frustrated at the beginning of the book because Bethany is just so much worse and making things so much harder for Sophie than they needed to be. I really wanted Sophie to just kill her and be done with it, but obviously, that is not really in Sophie’s nature (not to mention the little promise she made to Hannah about not harming humans). Ugh, but she is just terrible. When it became clear that going around her to deal with the problem was going to be a major plot in Date, I was relieved. I wanted Bethany to be taken down, but I didn’t want to have to see too much of her because she really is a terrible character!

There were some new characters introduced in Date, and they each added to the story in new and exciting (and sometimes frustrating) ways. We get Pierce, Festos, Aphrodite, and Jack. All of them are gods/goddesses, but I’ll leave you guessing on who they are (short of Aphrodite) until you read it because it really is interesting.

I really loved the changes between Ex and Date. I felt like everything was just more elevated, and there was a lot more going on in Date. There’s more adventure, humor, romance, mystery, revelations, danger. It really just had so much going on that I had a hard time putting it down and am having an even harder time trying to explain!

There were some absolutely amazing revelations close to the end and some insane ones at the end that I totally didn’t see coming. Also, the actual last sentence? OMG, did it ever have me regretting reading an ARC of this one. It ended so intensely that I am dying for the final book, but yeah, it hasn’t even been written yet!

I thought that My Date From Hell was an amazing sequel and even better than its predecessor. Everything I loved from Ex was amplified, and it was just a great read. I will DEFINITELY be reading the final book in the series as soon as I possibly can!

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “ARC Review – My Date From Hell

  1. Jeann @ Happy Indulgence October 30, 2013 at 5:44 am Reply

    Wow, I haven’t heard of these books before but I love how they incorporated greek mythology into it. Great review, glad you enjoyed it!

    • Mommy's Reading Break October 30, 2013 at 1:53 pm Reply

      They were really cute! I would recommend them, though I’m dying for the last book!

  2. […] My Date From Hell by Tellulah Darling (4.5 stars) […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 303 other followers