Review – Shark Bait by Jenn Cooksey

  • Title: Shark Bait
  • Author: Jenn Cooksey
  • Series: Grab Your Pole #1
  • Next Book: The Other Fish in the Sea (not yet released)
  • Source: Gift from a friend

Description from Goodreads:

Previously homeschooled Camie Ramsey is being shoved into the shark-infested waters of public high school, where even helium filled, penguin bespeckled arm floaties likely won’t help keep her inexperienced, fifteen-year old head above water in that rip current of hormones and emotions.

Camie’s worldly wisdom might be severely lacking (i.e., the closest she’s come to being kissed was sitting too close to the TV whilst Jake Ryan leaned in to give Samantha that fateful 16th birthday kiss), but she does understand her only hope for survival is if she’s thrown some kind of “social” life preserver before she sinks like a freaking rock. However, what will her fate be when she endeavors to flag down the only lifeguard on duty, the enormously popular and ridiculously beautiful Tristan Daniels? The most sought after and virtually most unattainable guy in school who not only makes Camie’s heart flatline on a recurring basis, he’s also the one guy who seemingly doesn’t know she exists.

Feeling like an inept piece of chum that could ultimately be swallowed by Jaws, can Camie get Tristan to rescue her from floundering in the treacherous deep, or is she destined to be Shark Bait?

Review

I read this book at the recommendation of one of my friends. She loved it so much that she told me she’d buy me a copy if I moved it to the top of my TBR list. How could I say no?

I had just finished a Contemporary YA Romance that I was not a fan of, so I was a little hesitant in reading this book, but I was not disappointed.

At the beginning, I was slightly reminded of Twilight because Camie is the new girl at school who immediately takes an interest in the gorgeous, yet unattainable, Tristan Daniels, and he also seems inexplicably interested in her as well. That, however, is where the similarities end. While Tristan is gorgeous, he is not a vampire or any other such crazy thing.

Watching Camie try to fit into a public high school after years of being homeschooled is both embarassing (because who can’t remember how hard high school is?) and absolutely hilarious. I found Jenn’s portrayal of teenagers to be realistic, but in an amusing way. Seriously, some of the scenes in this book had me literally cracking up laughing, to the point that my children thought I had gone crazy because I was laughing at the book.

In short, I loved this book and would highly recommend it to anyone who likes YA! It’s going up there with Harry Potter, Twilight, and the Hunger Games as one of my favorites!

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

