Review – Matched by Ally Condie

  • Title: Matched
  • Author: Ally Condie
  • Series: Matched #1
  • Next Book: Crossed
  • Source: Gift from a friend

Description from Goodreads:

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander’s face appears on-screen at her

Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate… until she sees Ky Markham’s face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

The Society tells her it’s a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she’s destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can’t stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society’s infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.

Review

I got interested in this book after seeing it around a lot on Goodreads. Amazon also emailed it to me as a recommendation after I read Insurgent. After reading The Hunger Games and the two current Divergent books, I have been very interested in dystopian books, so when Jac over at For Love and Books offered to loan me these books, I jumped on the chance.

The beginning interested me, as the beginning of any dystopian does, because I was curious to see the differences between Cassia’s Society and our own current society. However, while I was interested enough and would keep reading once I started, I wasn’t sucked in. There was nothing that made me have to pick up the book or not want to put it down. I was willing to keep going because I know the first book in any series tends to be a slow start, owing to the necessity of world building and character introduction. And I wasn’t disappointed. Around the halfway point or so, I was completely sucked in and couldn’t wait to see what would happen.

I’m hoping that the next two books will develop the characters a little more. I didn’t find myself having any strong feelings for any of them. I liked Cassia, Ky, and Xander enough, but I certainly didn’t feel attached to any of them. I don’t find myself relating to or truly invested in Cassia at any point during the story, but  she isn’t an unlikable character, unlike some female leads in recent stories. I liked both Ky and Xander as well, but I don’t feel a strong preference for either of them at this point. I am hoping to develop stronger feelings toward them as the series continues.

The book definitely ended with a couple of mysteries, some questions, and a cliffhanger. I liked that because it set things up to make me want to immediately jump into the next book.

In short, I did like this book a lot, but it was a slow starter. Because it didn’t immediately grab me, I can’t give it a wonderful rating, but I did like it. For that reason, I’m giving it a 3-3.5 star rating.

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , ,

One thought on “Review – Matched by Ally Condie

  1. WWW Wednesday #2 | Mommy's Reading Break November 28, 2012 at 10:09 am Reply

    […] the last week, I finished Matched (you can read my review here) and Crossed (still working on that review) by Ally Condie. They were pretty […]

Leave a Reply

