Booking Through Thursday – Being A Reader

Am I the only one who feels this way? That wonders at how other people can simply NOT do something that should be so essential? Who feels almost sad that so many people seem content to go through their lives without stretching their mental wings at all?

Can you imagine NOT being a Reader? How does it shape your life? Your perception of it?

How does being a Reader affect your relationship with all those folks who are looking at it from the other side and simply can’t understand how you can sit and READ all the time?

My answer:

Wow. This is a hard one and something that I haven’t really thought that much about. Growing up, my mom and sister were avid readers, so once I was able to read, I did it a lot. I’ve always liked to read. Even before I could read, I really liked having my mom read to me. So I’ve never really not been a reader. I might not have always been reading. I’ve gone through months or even as much as a year without picking up a book, but it was always something I liked to do, and I always went back to it. So I can’t really imagine NOT being a reader. Reading is part of who I am, and even moreso now that I’m a stay-at-home mom. I don’t get a ton of time to myself, and even when I do, we don’t have a lot of money for me to go out and do things, so I love that I can read. It takes me places I can’t go, and just lets me escape the monotony of everyday life.

The other thing that I really like about reading is that it lets me think about deep issues without being too disturbed. For example, one book I read (I won’t say which so as not to ruin it) had a teenage male-on-male rape scene. This scene really bothered me and made me think, but I was also able to gloss over it a little. In other words, my imagination didn’t have to go too deep into the scene, to actually see it. This would not be an option in the other storytelling mediums of movies. It can be hinted at and not really seen, but it still tends to be more graphic than my imagination has to be, and I don’t like it. There’s a male-on-male rape scene in a movie I once watched, and even though it didn’t explicitly show it, it still creeps me out years (possibly even a decade) after watching it. Ugh!

I don’t know how people can NOT read. I feel the same as you. I’m constantly bugging my husband to read. Aside from the fact that it would be nice to be able to talk to my husband about books we’ve both read, I really want my daughters to see both of their parents reading. I just think it would make it a little more likely that they’d be readers, too. Then again, with the amount of time they see me reading and getting excited about books, maybe I’ll make up for his lack of reading. I don’t know, but it would be nice to not have to worry about that.

I don’t think being a reader really affects my relationships with non-readers. It’s just like any other thing in life, I suppose. I have no idea how my mother-in-law can sit and watch sports like baseball and NASCAR every time it’s on, but I’m sure she wonders why I can’t. It makes me sad for people that they don’t read and get to experience all the wonderful things that I do, but it’s not really something that we talk about, I guess. Then again, most of my human interaction is with my immediate family and online, so I am surrounded by a lot of people who at least like to read, even if they don’t have a lot of time to do it.

Wow. That was really long! But it was a long, thought-provoking question!

Tagged:

5 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – Being A Reader

  1. laurelrainsnow November 29, 2012 at 10:57 am Reply

    Interesting conversation, don’t you think? I like being able to probe into my reading experiences and see what others are sharing about theirs….here’s MY BTT POST

  2. Tribute Books Mama November 29, 2012 at 11:36 am Reply

    Reading allows you to enter a world for a time and forget what’s going on around you.

  3. The Character Connection November 29, 2012 at 12:41 pm Reply

    I like what you said about reading is a part of who you are.

    http://thecharacterconnection.blogspot.com/2012/11/booking-through-thursday_29.html

  4. Holly (2 Kids and Tired) November 29, 2012 at 8:59 pm Reply

    I love books. I can’t remember a time when I didn’t read. My husband and sons are both readers, but my husband and I don’t share the same tastes. I rarely read anything he does, but he often reviews for my blog. And your comment about not understanding your MIL and NASCAR is dead on. (I don’t understand the appeal of NASCAR either.) We all have our passions and many times they don’t overlap but we manage to get along anyway!

    2 Kids and Tired Books BTT

Leave a Reply

