Review – Reached by Ally Condie

  • Title: Reached
  • Author: Ally Condie
  • Series: Matched #3
  • Previous Book: Crossed
  • Source: Gift from a friend

Description from Goodreads:

After leaving Society and desperately searching for the Rising—and each other—Cassia and Ky have found what they were looking for, but at the cost of losing each other yet again: Cassia has been assigned to work for the Rising from within Society, while Ky has been stationed outside its borders. But nothing is as predicted, and all too soon the veil lifts and things shift once again.

In this gripping conclusion to the #1 New York Times-bestsellingMatched trilogy, Cassia will reconcile the difficulties of challenging a life too confining, seeking a freedom she never dreamed possible, and honoring a love she cannot live without.

Review

After finishing Crossed earlier this week, I HAD to know what happened to Cassia, Ky, Xander, and the rest of the Society. Just like Crossed, Reached starts off from a different perspective. This time, Xander is included as one of the narrators of the story. We get to see what he’s been up to, and this first chapter also sets up the main action/conflict/point of the book.

Along with Xander, Cassia and Ky are back as narrators. I actually really liked this set-up because we’re able to see different things going on at the same time, since each of them has different jobs. However, we’re also able to see some of the same events from different perspectives, which really helps to give us a better picture of what’s going on.

Reached was not at all what I expected. I expected a lot of violence, death, and betrayal. There is some of that, but it’s not the main part of the book. Though I usually like a lot of action and excitement in my books, I surprisingly really liked this. I thought it was cool to see that there can be an uprising, a rebellion, without it being a huge bloodbath. There was some medical stuff that was kind of hard to follow, but  I didn’t find it to be too distracting.

We already know a lot about Ky and Cassia before this book starts, but we’re able to learn more about them and see them really grow into who they want to be. But more importantly, since he was such a large part of the book, we get to learn more about Xander.  I actually found myself understanding and liking him a bit better in this book.

There was a lot of information revealed in this book. There was one twist revealed at the end that I completely predicted, but most of them I didn’t see coming. I will admit that I was a little disappointed with the ending. It kind of makes sense with how the story was set up, but it left me wanting more. For that reason, I give it 4, not 5 stars.

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Review – Reached by Ally Condie

  1. mysticcooking November 29, 2012 at 7:34 pm Reply

    I keep meaning to get back into this series – I read “Matched” when it first came out and was super excited about the sequel, but by the time it was released I was already reading other things and just haven’t gotten back to it. Sounds like I should dive back in. Thanks for the review!

  2. WWW Wednesday #3 | Mommy's Reading Break December 5, 2012 at 3:05 pm Reply

    […] the last week, I finished Reached by Ally Condie (review here), Absolutely Done by Dominae Primus (I reviewed this one for Bex n Books, but it isn’t up on […]

Leave a Reply

