Friday 56/ Book Beginnings #2

Rules:

Grab a book, any book.

  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
  • Find any sentence (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
  • Post it.

(hosted by Freda’s Voice)

 

56% from Kindle:

After the last shot fired, after the last bit of blood, at the last gasp of life, Trench twirls his revolvers and holsters them.

This quote is from Absolutely Done by Dominae Primus

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Rules:

Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.

 

Tania dug her freshly painted toes into the gold-speckled sand and walked to the edge of the water where Dave was waiting.

I like this sentence because it just paints a really pretty picture, especially since we are quickly approaching winter here in Massachusetts, and I would love to be able to walk in the water on a beach right now. I wish it was that warm! However, knowing what I do about this book (from reading the description), I don’t feel that this sentence really gives anything away or draws me into the story right away. Then again, since it doesn’t seem directly related to the rest of the story, I am curious to see why they are on a beach.

This quote is from The Woman Who Wasn’t There by Robin Gaby Fisher and Angelo J. Guglielmo, Jr.

 

Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Friday 56/ Book Beginnings #2

  1. Sandra Nachlinger November 30, 2012 at 1:48 pm Reply

    I enjoyed both excerpts. The first once gives me the impression of a heartless gunslinger from the Old West — twirling his guns as if he’s proud of killing someone. The second makes me want to fly to the Caribbean! Good choices.
    My Book Beginnings / Friday 56 post is from TANGLED ASHES.

  2. fredamans November 30, 2012 at 3:21 pm Reply

    Very cool 56, I’m intrigued.

Leave a Reply

