Booking Through Thursday – Records

btt button

Do you keep a list of the books you’ve read? How? In a journal? Through one of the online services? If so, WHY? To keep good records for future reference? To make sure you don’t accidentally reread? If not, why not? Too eager to move on to the next book? Too lazy? Never thought to bother?

I do keep a list of the books I’ve read! It’s not from my entire life, but when I got really into reading again in 2009, I started keeping a list. Before that, I updated my Paperback Swap read list occasionally, but I wanted more info. I have an accounting degree, and I like data. So I have an Excel spreadsheet, dating back to 2009, that has the books I’ve read by title, by author, and by date. I record the number of days it takes me to read a book and the number of pages. This year, I’ve also started keeping track of time in a notebook so that I can keep a running calculation of my average pages per hour that I read to have a rough idea of how long any given book will take me to read. I’m kind of a numbers nerd! lol I also use Goodreads.

I also keep this record so I don’t accidentally reread. My mom doesn’t read very often. Sometimes she’ll go years between books, and she never remembers which books she has and hasn’t read. So I keep a list, so that I won’t go back years from now and try to reread the same book.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

