Book Beginnings/ Friday 56 #3

Rules:

Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.

  Staring down at the man on the bed, I couldn’t help but suspect the coincidence. What were the chances he’d be brought in on my first day at the hospital?

This beginning is awesome. I can’t wait to see who this man is (though I have a suspicion), and to see what comes next. But honestly? It wouldn’t matter if the first sentences were “Hi. My name is Tod.” because I am just SO excited to read this book! After reading the first 4.5 books of this series, I LOVE Tod so much, that I can’t wait to read a book (novella, whatever) about him!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Rules:

  • Grab a book, any book.
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
  • Find any sentence (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
  • Post it.

(hosted by Freda’s Voice)

 

“You’ll just be sitting there one day, alone with her, talking about someplace you went back in the day, and the next think you know it, you’ll be looking into each other’s eyes, and it’ll feel just like it used to.”

This quote is 56% into the Kindle version of Soul Screamers, Vol. 2 by Rachel Vincent, which is 2 novels and a novella in one anthology. This quote comes specifically in My Soul to Steal.

 

Tagged: ,

12 thoughts on “Book Beginnings/ Friday 56 #3

  1. laurelrainsnow December 7, 2012 at 9:02 am Reply

    Now I’m very curious….I’ve never read this author, but this is the first time the excerpts from any of her books have grabbed me.

    Here’s MY FRIDAY MEMES POST

    • mommysreadingbreak December 7, 2012 at 9:08 am Reply

      It’s taken me a while to get into it. These quotes are from books 4 and 4.5. The first couple books are kind of eh, but by the I got to book 3, I couldn’t put them down! I read the entirety of My Soul to Steal yesterday!

  2. Jo @ Mixed Book Bag December 7, 2012 at 10:55 am Reply

    Wonderful quotes. They are from a author and series I have not read but both books look good. Here is my post:
    BBF

    • mommysreadingbreak December 7, 2012 at 11:02 am Reply

      I’m fairly new to her myself, but I’m loving the books more and more as I get further into the series. Of course, I’m kind of bummed to be reading now since the last book isn’t out yet!

  3. Juli @ A Universe in Words December 7, 2012 at 11:09 am Reply

    The F56 sounds so romantic, although I don’t know whether it’s supposed to! I also love the cover for ‘Steal’! I do wonder who has ended up in the hospital bed! Thanks for sharing! Hop on over to My Friday Post if you have the time!
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    • mommysreadingbreak December 7, 2012 at 11:41 am Reply

      I’m not going to spoil whether or not it’s supposed to be romantic! lol It does sound it, though, doesn’t it?

  4. Bev Hankins December 7, 2012 at 1:52 pm Reply

    Wonder who the man on the bed is?

    Here’s my Friday Post

  5. rosecityreader December 7, 2012 at 2:09 pm Reply

    It is always such a rush to get a new book in a series you love. Happy reading!

    Thanks for including your post on Book Beginnings!

  6. fredamans December 7, 2012 at 5:28 pm Reply

    I’ve read Reaper but not My Soul to Steal. I want to.

    • mommysreadingbreak December 7, 2012 at 8:42 pm Reply

      I’m reading Reaper now. Goodreads puts it at #3.5, but Soul Screamers Vol. 2 and Rachel Vincent’s website put it after My Soul to Steal. But OMG, My Soul to Steal was SO good! I actually posted a review gushing about it today. It was so hard to write the review and say everything I loved about it without spoiling anything, though, so my review probably isn’t very good. lol

      • fredamans December 10, 2012 at 1:01 pm

        Your review was awesome, made me want to read it even more!

      • Mommy's Reading Break December 10, 2012 at 1:20 pm

        Aw, thanks! I should review Reaper, too, but it’s so hard to review such a short story!

Leave a Reply

