Musing Mondays #3

http://shouldbereading.files.wordpress.com/2012/11/musingmondays41.jpg?w=198&h=109This week’s musing, courtesy of “iamciska.tumbler.com“, asks…

What was the last book you could not finish and why?

The last book that I couldn’t finish was Gravelands of Fate by Joseph Beekman. I was asked by a friend from another blog to review the entire trilogy, and I made it through the first two books okay and started the last book, but I found that I just didn’t care about what happened enough to pick up the book again. Honestly, the books weren’t horrible. They were pretty well-written, and I’m sure that other people would probably like them, but they just weren’t my style. They reminded me a lot of the His Dark Materials trilogy in that it would build up to a scene that you expected would be really action-packed and then just wasn’t. It was just a little too slow for my personal taste.

Tagged:

4 thoughts on “Musing Mondays #3

  1. Lisa (Southern Girl Reads) December 10, 2012 at 10:33 am Reply

    Its unfortunate the author couldn’t hold your attention enough to finish the trilogy. Usually the final book ties it all together. Sorry you didn’t get a pay-off.

  2. ladyambrosiaj December 10, 2012 at 3:09 pm Reply

    That had t be frustrating to make it through to the last book and not get the pay off of having the entire thing tie together and seem complete.

    http://icewarmth.com/musing-monday-121012/

  3. Jo @ Mixed Book Bag December 10, 2012 at 4:59 pm Reply

    That has happened to me too. The books just could not keep my interest. Here is my post:
    MM

  4. Daystarz Books December 10, 2012 at 7:40 pm Reply

    I’ve given up on one series I was looking forward to , fortunately it was after the first book though. My MM http://daystarz.wordpress.com/2012/12/10/musing-mondays-dec-10/

Leave a Reply

