Top Ten Favorite New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2012

https://i2.wp.com/3.bp.blogspot.com/-T6ycYM15EZk/TWx5ZpS0j-I/AAAAAAAAAeA/cEIZ0CpKO-k/s1600/TTT3W.jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Wow. Looking over my list, I didn’t read that many authors this year, let alone new ones! Of the 70+ books I’ve read so far this year, I’ve only read a total of 27 different authors, 22 of which were new-to-me this year, so I’ll pick my top 10 from those 27! (Authors’ names link to their Goodreads page.)

 mysoultotake.jpg image by mrso822  

1.) Jenn Cooksey – She’s only written one book, but it was my favorite book of the year, so I cannot wait for her to write more, and I will definitely read anything she writes!

2.) Rachel Vincent – I just finished book 5 of her Soul Screamers series, and I am in LOVE! These books are so good! I’m not positive when, but I definitely plan to read her other books/series!

3.) Veronica Roth – Is this any surprise to anyone who has read the Divergent series? These books are so good and rival The Hunger Games in my mind. I can’t wait for book 3, and I will eagerly await anything else she writes.

4.) Richelle Mead – I’m totally behind the times, but I finally read the Vampire Academy series this year, and it was so good! I have the first two Bloodlines books on my Ipod waiting to go, and I plan on reading her other series at some point as well!

   

5.) Ally Condie –  I just read the Matched trilogy last month, and I really enjoyed it. I just saw on her Goodreads page that she has other books out, so I’m going to have to check them out!

6.) Kendare Blake – I read Anna Dressed in Blood and Girl of Nightmares this year, and even though I don’t usually like horror novels, I really liked these. She has a new series starting next year that I plan to read, and I just saw that she has a previous book out that I’m going to have to check out!

7.) Brian Rowe – I haven’t read anything but his Happy Birthday trilogy, but I really liked that. I’ve also interacted with him on Twitter, and he’s a good guy!

8.) Joseph Evans – I got his book, City of the Falling Sky, as a freebie on my Kindle. After “meeting” him on Twitter, I read it and really liked it! Of course, I kind of wish I hadn’t because I’m now anxiously awaiting the next book, which he’s still writing! lol

 

9.) Jim Bronyaur – I read his Minivan Mom Mystery books after I got the first one as a Kindle freebie. They were cute reads. It think most of his other books are horror, but I’ll probably give them a chance. I hope he keeps up with the Minivan Mom Mysteries. Another one I chat with on Twitter from time to time, and I like seeing pics of his little guys!

10.) Sarah Mlynowski – I read her Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn’t Have) this year, and I thought it was cute. I plan on reading some more of her books, including her children’s book that I’m borrowing from my niece! lol

Tagged:

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Favorite New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2012

  1. Candice December 11, 2012 at 10:21 am Reply

    Cute list! I can’t wait to read the last book in the Matched trilogy as well as the last one in the Divergent series! Both should be great!

    • Mommy's Reading Break December 11, 2012 at 10:23 am Reply

      I liked the last book of the Matched trilogy, though it was definitely not what I expected!

  2. Alice in Readerland December 11, 2012 at 1:14 pm Reply

    I love Sarah Mlynowski’s ‘Gimmie A Call’, so I’ll have to put ‘Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn’t Have)’ on my TBR list! My TTT list: http://aliceinreaderland.wordpress.com/2012/12/10/top-ten-favorite-new-to-me-authors-i-read-in-2012/

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  3. Christine @ BookishlyB December 12, 2012 at 7:56 pm Reply

    It’s funny, I don’t read YA but I follow some of your author’s agents on twitter!

  4. […] When I did this topic last year, I had read over 70 books but only 27 different authors, 22 of which were new to me. As of now, I […]

Leave a Reply

