Top Ten Books I Read in 2012

https://i2.wp.com/3.bp.blogspot.com/-T6ycYM15EZk/TWx5ZpS0j-I/AAAAAAAAAeA/cEIZ0CpKO-k/s1600/TTT3W.jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Since I love series, and some of them I read had some amazing books, I’m going to limit myself to 1 book per series.  I have a couple of rereads on the list, so I’ll mark these when they come up. I’m also going to do it countdown style. I ranked the rereads a little lower than I probably would normally, because they were rereads.

10.)  Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake. Even though I don’t typically read Horror books, this one was surprisingly good!

9.)  The Lying Game by Sara Shepard. The start to her Lying Game series was really good. I stopped after book 3 because the rest hadn’t been released yet, and now I’m waiting until they’re all out to finish the series, but I really did like this book the best.

8.)  Happy Birthday to You by Brian Rowe. This was the conclusion of his Happy Birthday trilogy, and it was my favorite because it was very different and more unexpected than the first two.

7.)  Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling. This was the last book of the Harry Potter series, and a reread for me. While Half-Blood Prince is technically my favorite of the series, this one is a little more exciting with a better ending. I just like back story. lol

6.)  Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins. This is the second book in the Hunger Games trilogy, but I like it the best. It has all the action of the first book but with less of the introduction and world-building, making it easier to jump right in. This was another reread for me, but I’ve only read it twice, versus 4 times for HP, so I ranked it a bit higher.

5.)  Hidden by P.C. & Kristin Cast. This is the tenth book in the House of Night series. I’ve been reading this series since December 2009, so I’m always excited when a new book comes out.

4.)  Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead. This is the third book in the Vampire Academy series, and it’s my favorite. It’s intense and has a twist ending!

3.)  Divergent by Veronica Roth. The first book in the Divergent trilogy. It was so good. In this one, I actually liked the world-building because it was just so different and interesting. I want the last book now!

2.)  Shark Bait by Jenn Cooksey. This is the first book in the Grab Your Pole series, but the second hasn’t come out yet. I tend toward fantasy, paranormal, or dystopian, so I was a little skeptical about how much I’d like this book, but I absolutely loved it! It was realistic in a hilarious way. I cracked up so many times reading this book that my kids thought I was crazy!

1.)  My Soul to Steal by Rachel Vincent. This is the fourth book in the Soul Screamers series, and it was so good I could not put it down! I read the whole thing in one day! Thank goodness for my husband taking care of my kids because it was so nice to not have to take breaks and to just be able to keep reading. I cannot recommend this series enough!

Tagged:

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Read in 2012

  1. Bethany Farwell December 18, 2012 at 9:44 am Reply

    Ahhh Anna dressed in Blood! <3. Amazing list!
    -Beth

    YA Vixens Top Ten Tues!

  2. Ula @ Blog of Erised December 18, 2012 at 12:23 pm Reply

    Great reads, many I included myself 🙂
    I left HP out because they’re my ultimate faves and I reread them every year. I just included those that were new to me.

    My TTT

  3. Tanya Patrice December 18, 2012 at 1:30 pm Reply

    Awesome list! I loved Anna Dressed in Blood too, as well as The Hunger Games series and the Vampire Academy series.

  4. Alice in Readerland December 18, 2012 at 3:56 pm Reply

    I still need to read Divergent! Here’s my TTT list: http://aliceinreaderland.wordpress.com/2012/12/17/top-books/

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  5. LillyLilac December 18, 2012 at 4:50 pm Reply

    Good list, I love The Lying Game series as well and I’ve only read the first three as well but I plan on reading the fourth book as soon as possible.

  6. Quinn December 18, 2012 at 9:03 pm Reply

    Harry Potter! It is my all time favorite series. I think my favorite HP, though, is Prisoner of Azkaban. But I love them all. I like backstory, too 🙂

  7. Anya @ On Starships and Dragonwings December 19, 2012 at 10:51 pm Reply

    Great list! I’m still working on Divergent since review books keep getting in the way D: Here is my TTT

Leave a Reply

