Book Beginnings/ Friday 56 #5

Rules:

  • Grab a book, any book.
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
  • Find any sentence (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
  • Post it.

(hosted by Freda’s Voice)

Page 56 from my Kindle:

“I don’t doubt it, Penryn.” He says my name as though he is tasting something new, rolling it over his tongue to see how he likes it. There’s an intimacy in the way he says it that makes me want to squirm.

_____________________________________________________________

Rules:

Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.

I sat across from Jay, one of the guys known throughout HH as a slacker, and I listened to Mr. O drone on and on about the periodic table, compounds and atoms. I didn’t hear a word he said. I couldn’t seem to get my mind off of what happened this morning.

My Thoughts

These sentences don’t really give too much away, but it does make me curious to know what happened that morning!

Tagged: ,

4 thoughts on “Book Beginnings/ Friday 56 #5

  1. Jo @ MIxed Book BAg December 21, 2012 at 11:44 am Reply

    Well, I wonder what happened this morning. Nice Choice!

  2. Sinn December 21, 2012 at 1:04 pm Reply

    Okay, now I want to know what happened!

    Here’s mine:
    http://www.sinnfulbooks.com/2012/12/book-beginnings.html

    sinn @ sinnful books

  3. fredamans December 21, 2012 at 7:06 pm Reply

    Pretty powerful 56.

  4. Shirley December 22, 2012 at 6:16 pm Reply

    It sounds like class was boring and it would be difficult to concentrate but I wonder what occupied her thoughts that day!

    Here’s my Book Beginnings.

Leave a Reply

