Review – Black Moon by Jessica McQuay

  • Title: Black Moon
  • Author: Jessica McQuay
  • Series: Paige Tailor #1
  • Source: Received from the author for review

Description from Goodreads:

“Am I losing my mind?”

Paige couldn’t help but question her sanity. What other explanation could there be for her hearing a conversation held barely above a whisper in the back of a classroom full of students? What about coming home to find one of those very classmates lying in wait in the darkness of her home, ready to attack her?

Confused, frustrated and feeling every ounce of her social ostracism, Paige confides in the one person she’s always been able to count on: her mom. But when her mom reveals a deeply rooted, unbelievable family secret, Paige discovers her world is filled with more than she ever imagined possible. A world where fairytales live alongside nightmares and secrets are the glue that binds them together. Suddenly no one is who they seem and Paige is faced with more questions than answers. Can she survive in a world filled with creatures scarier than anything she could imagine and where deceit runs as thick as blood? Or will the truth send her over the edge?

Review

(I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.)

I liked this book. It wasn’t as amazing as some of the other books I’ve read this year, but it was better than several.

The beginning jumps right into the story. Within the first few pages, we find out that there have been some weird things going on with Paige recently, and even weirder things continue to happen. We find out very quickly what’s going on with her, which surprised me. I really thought that the strange happenings would be a long-standing mystery within the story.

I think that the writing style left a little to be desired. I found some spelling/grammar errors that threw me for a few seconds, but those are easily fixed. The majority of the book was written in first person, from Paige’s perspective, but there are some sections that are written in third person that lets us know a little more that is going on within the story. I actually liked this, but I found that sometimes I would get a little confused as to who was saying or doing certain things. Also, sometimes I felt that the narrative dragged, and we were given a little too much detail about Paige’s actions. Also, I found some inconsistencies in the tense. However, as far as storytelling itself was concerned, I thought the basic premise of the story was pretty good and interesting.

I really liked some of the characters in this story. Paige was amusing, if inconsistent, but I think that the inconsistencies within her personality had more to do with her background that a failure in character development. Naialah was the most interesting, enigmatic character. I was intrigued by the scenes that she was in, and I really wish that we got to learn more about her. As this is supposed to be a series, I assume we’ll learn more about her in subsequent books. I felt that the “grandparentals” were a little flat, but I think this was due to Paige’s feelings and impression of them, seeing as how the story was told from her perspective.

I liked the conflict at the end, but I felt that there were a lot of questions left unanswered. I’m sure that this is to lead readers into the rest of the series, but it made me mad. I wanted more information NOW! (Yes, I like instant gratification. That’s why I like to read completed series. lol) I will probably read at least the next book in the series, provided it isn’t several years before it comes out.

Overall, this was a good book, and an interesting spin on a well-known supernatural being. I think it’s worth a read, so I give it 3 stars.

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Review – Black Moon by Jessica McQuay

  1. […] and the kids being on vacation (no chauffeuring, yay!), so I read Black Moon by Jessica McQuay for review, The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (review here), and Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally […]

Leave a Reply

