Book Beginnings/ Friday 56 #6

Rules:

  • Grab a book, any book.
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
  • Find any sentence (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
  • Post it.

(hosted by Freda’s Voice)

Page 56:

“Girls think they’re only allowed to wear dresses on formal occasion, but I like a woman who says, you know, I’m going over to see a boy who is having a nervous breakdown, a boy whose connection to the sense of sight itself is tenuous, and gosh dang it, I am going to wear a dress for him.”

_____________________________________________________________

Rules:

Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.

I once read that football was invented so people wouldn’t notice summer ending. But I couldn’t wait for summer vacation to end. I couldn’t wait for football. Football, dominator of fall – football, love of my life.

My Thoughts

I actually find these sentences really interesting, mostly because as a teenager, I was the exact opposite of Jordan. I hated the end of summer vacation and football! Especially since Jordan is a female football player, I’m very excited to read this book!

Tagged: ,

4 thoughts on “Book Beginnings/ Friday 56 #6

  1. Anne December 28, 2012 at 2:01 pm Reply

    I’m pretty sure that I will love Catching Jordan. I am just now putting it on my list of books to read. And The Fault in Our Stars was my number 1 book of 21012. Love it! This is my first time participating in Book Beginnings for at least a half a year so I am just getting back into the swing of things. I hope you drop by and visit my blog, too.

    Anne@HeadFullofBooks

  2. fredamans December 28, 2012 at 4:44 pm Reply

    That 56 is awesome, and I agree too. I have that book wishlisted.

  3. Bev@My Reader's Block December 28, 2012 at 5:36 pm Reply

    I’m not much of a fan of football….but I do like Fall! It’s my favorite season.

    Here is my Friday Post. If you’d like to take a peek.

  4. Shirley December 29, 2012 at 6:38 pm Reply

    I’ve read a lot of good reviews for The Fault in Our Stars! Hope you are enjoying it!

Leave a Reply

