Review – The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

  • Title: The Fault in Our Stars
  • Author: John Green
  • Series: No.
  • Source: Library

Description from Goodreads:

Diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer at 13, Hazel was prepared to die until, at 14, a medical miracle shrunk the tumours in her lungs… for now.

Two years post-miracle, sixteen-year-old Hazel is post-everything else, too; post-high school, post-friends and post-normalcy. And even though she could live for a long time (whatever that means), Hazel lives tethered to an oxygen tank, the tumours tenuously kept at bay with a constant chemical assault.

Enter Augustus Waters. A match made at cancer kid support group, Augustus is gorgeous, in remission, and shockingly to her, interested in Hazel. Being with Augustus is both an unexpected destination and a long-needed journey, pushing Hazel to re-examine how sickness and health, life and death, will define her and the legacy that everyone leaves behind.

Review

This book was so not what I expected at all. I’d seen it mentioned a lot this year, but after reading the Goodreads description, I was unimpressed. It just didn’t sound appealing to me at all. But then came a lot of End of Year Surveys and Top Ten Books of 2012, and I saw this book all over the place. I figured for it to be getting that much love, it had to be better than it sounded, and I decided to give it a chance.

From the very beginning, the first couple pages, it was clear to me that I really, really liked Hazel. Even though she is terminally ill with cancer, she has a sense of humor that can’t be beat. I found myself chuckling a lot at things that came out of her mouth, and I found myself often forgetting that she was, in fact, sick, until the next mention of her cannula came up.

Augustus was easily my favorite character. He was just so swoon-worthy and romantic, but also hilarious and sarcastic. From the start, I really liked his interaction with Hazel. They just had a relationship that was so believable but still really enjoyable to read. I never found myself rolling my eyes or getting aggravated with them. I really loved their chemistry.

There was a twist at the end that while I sort of saw it coming, it wasn’t blatantly predictable, and I liked it. It changed the way I expected the story to go, which was nice. I am also glad that a prediction I made for the ending did not come true. I definitely thought it was foreshadowed and would not have been happy with it, so I’m glad that it didn’t happen the way I thought it would.

I did find myself with some questions left over at the end of the story, but I think that that was realistic. The whole story was very realistic, and in life, you don’t always get the answers you want, and you don’t always get a happy ending. I thought that was appropriate here.

Overall, I really, really loved this book. It was so beautifully written, a realistic look at the way cancer affects people’s lives. I found my heart going out to the characters for their struggles, but moreso loving how they continued to live their lives and not let their cancer define them. I would definitely recommend that everybody read this book, and I will definitely be reading more John Green. I easily give it 5 stars!

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Review – The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

  1. Alice in Readerland January 1, 2013 at 9:23 pm Reply

    I’ll definitely have to read this soon! Great review! 🙂

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  2. […] so I read Black Moon by Jessica McQuay for review, The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (review here), and Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally (review to come […]

Leave a Reply

