Review – Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

  • Title: Unearthly
  • Author: Cynthia Hand
  • Series: Unearthly #1
  • Next Book: Hallowed
  • Source: Personal Purchase

Description from Goodreads:

In the beginning, there’s a boy standing in the trees . . . .
Clara Gardner has recently learned that she’s part angel. Having angel blood run through her veins not only makes her smarter, stronger, and faster than humans (a word, she realizes, that no longer applies to her), but it means she has a purpose, something she was put on this earth to do. Figuring out what that is, though, isn’t easy.

Her visions of a raging forest fire and an alluring stranger lead her to a new school in a new town. When she meets Christian, who turns out to be the boy of her dreams (literally), everything seems to fall into place and out of place at the same time. Because there’s another guy, Tucker, who appeals to Clara’s less angelic side.

As Clara tries to find her way in a world she no longer understands, she encounters unseen dangers and choices she never thought she’d have to make between honesty and deceit, love and duty, good and evil. When the fire from her vision finally ignites, will Clara be ready to face her destiny?

Unearthly is a moving tale of love and fate, and the struggle between following the rules and following your heart.

Review

Wow. This book really surprised me. Before reading this, the thought of a book about someone who is part angel didn’t seem too promising. But it sucked me in and held my attention in a way I definitely didn’t see coming.

The book immediately starts off with a bang, or should I say burn? Right when the story opens, Clara finds herself in a vision of a raging forest fire with a boy that she doesn’t know but instinctually recognizes. This immediately sucked me in because I wanted to know more about her vision and this boy and the fire and everything that leads to them being there.

I was very impressed with the whole story and Hand’s take on angels and angel-bloods (part angels). I really liked the way the story developed and the whole sense of angel-bloods’ purpose. The mystery unfolded naturally. The reader is given a little at a time, just enough to make you feel like you’re learning something, but leaving enough out to make you want to keep reading.

I really liked Clara. She is a typical teenager who happens to be part-angel, as opposed to a part-angel who happens to be a teenager. I found her to be realistic and likable. Christian was the popular boy, but he wasn’t really arrogant or mean. He was a good guy. But Tucker was definitely my favorite character. He was so dreamy but funny! I definitely can see why he was included in the YA Crush Tourney (Off-topic, but the more books I read from the Tourney, I have no idea how people could pick. I’ve loved them all, and I’m not sure I could choose!).

I absolutely loved the twists and turns at the end that finally brought us to the fire. I definitely did not see any of them coming, and they kept me feverishly flipping through the pages. The book ends not on a major cliffhanger but with enough questions as to what’s to come to make me very interested to dive into the next book in the series! I give it 4.5 stars!

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo halfstar-1_zps2ace675f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Review – Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

  1. ocdreader January 6, 2013 at 5:08 pm Reply

    This sounds like a lot of fun. I will have to remember to pick it up

  2. […] started reading other books as well. In the past week, I finished Unearthly by Cynthia Hand (review here), Charity Moon by DeAnna Kinney, and finished listening to Bloodlines by Richelle […]

  3. […] Unearthly by Cynthia Hand (4.5 stars) […]

  4. […] started a lot of series this year. My favorite completed series that I started this year was Unearthly by Cynthia Hand. As for incomplete series, and I mean actual series, not companion novels, would […]

Leave a Reply

