Review – Fairest of All by Sarah Mlynowski

  • Title: Fairest of All
  • Author: Sarah Mlynowski
  • Series: Whatever After #1
  • Next Book: If the Shoe Fits
  • Source: Borrowed from my niece

Description from Goodreads:

 A fresh, modern spin on a classic fairy tale–from bestselling author Sarah Mlynowski
Mirror, mirror, on the basement wall . . .
Once upon a time my brother and I were normal kids. The next minute? The mirror in our basement slurped us up and magically transported us inside Snow White’s fairy tale.
I know it sounds crazy, but it’s true.
But hey — we’re heroes We stopped Snow White from eating the poisoned apple. Hooray Or not. If Snow White doesn’t die, she won’t get to meet her prince. And then she won’t get her happy ending. Oops.
Now it’s up to us to:
– Avoid getting poisoned
– Sneak into a castle
– Fix Snow White’s story
And then, fingers crossed, find our way home.

Review

I read Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn’t Have) by Sarah Mlynowski early last year. It wasn’t the greatest book, but I liked it. When I saw that she had a children’s book out, I thought it looked cute. Then my 9-year-old niece got it, and I asked if I could borrow it.

Fairest of All is a retelling of Snow White’s story, and it was really cute. It was a super quick read (170 pages in under 2 hours!), but it was fun, too!

The book is told from Abby’s perspective, a 10-year-old girl with aspirations of being a judge when she grows up. She’s the most responsible, and probably smartest, 10-year-old I’ve ever “known”.

I watched the Disney version of Snow White not that long ago, and I certainly didn’t love it as much as I did when I was a kid. She’s too prim, her voice is too high, and it’s just kind of boring. But Sarah Mlynowski reinvents the story in a totally believable, 2000’s kind of way. I definitely found it more interesting, and the twist at the end was great!

In short, I would highly recommend this book for anyone who has ever liked fairy tales, especially Snow White. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series!

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Review – Fairest of All by Sarah Mlynowski

  1. Alice in Readerland January 15, 2013 at 4:24 pm Reply

    I got this book from the library a few days ago (I enjoyed Sarah’s Gimmie a Call) & thought it was adorable! 🙂 The next book in the series looks cute too. Great review!

    • Mommy's Reading Break January 15, 2013 at 10:08 pm Reply

      It was super cute! I have the next book on hold at the library because it’s too much money for me to buy at this point ($9.68 for a 160 page kindle book)

  2. WWW Wednesday #9 « Mommy's Reading Break January 16, 2013 at 10:13 am Reply

    […] (review here), Radiant by Cynthia Hand (review here), Fairest of All by Sarah Mlynowski (review here) and Charity Rising by DeAnna Kinney (review to […]

  3. […] Fairest of All by Sarah Mlynowski (4 stars) […]

Leave a Reply

