Book Beginnings/ Friday 56 #10

Rules:

  • Grab a book, any book.
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
  • Find any sentence (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
  • Post it.

(hosted by Freda’s Voice)

56%  from my Kindle:

13049981.jpg image by mrso822

Boundless by Cynthia Hand

“I don’t know.” She shrugs. “But I do know that he loves you. And you love him.”

_____________________________________________________________

Rules:

Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.

Grasping at Eternity by Karen Amanda Hooper

I wanted to punch a hole in the sky, rip it open, and fly out of this world and into a magical one. Except I’d never punched anything in all my seventeen years of life, I didn’t believe in magic, and I sure as heck couldn’t fly.

My Thoughts

This paragraph really doesn’t give too much away, but it does make me curious. I want to know what has the MC so upset that she’d want to punch a hole in the sky!

Tagged: ,

8 thoughts on “Book Beginnings/ Friday 56 #10

  1. fredamans January 25, 2013 at 12:27 pm Reply

    I’ve heard great things about that series but haven’t read it yet.

  2. Sandra Nachlinger January 25, 2013 at 1:24 pm Reply

    The opening sentence definitely makes me want to read more, to find out why the character is so upset. I like the way the author showed that feeling – “punch a hole in the sky.” What a creative way to show anger or frustration.
    My Book Beginning/Friday 56 is from PERIGEE MOON here.

    • Mommy's Reading Break January 25, 2013 at 11:12 pm Reply

      It is interesting. I’ve been busy the last couple days, so I haven’t gotten very far into it.

  3. pamela January 25, 2013 at 3:03 pm Reply

    Love the beginning! Wouldn’t it be awesome to “punch a hole in the sky, rip it open, and fly out of this world and into a magical one.” 🙂

  4. vidyatiru January 26, 2013 at 12:08 am Reply

    i loved the book beginning today ..so much power in that sentence.
    myrandrspace.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

