Review – Boundless by Cynthia Hand

  • Title: Boundless
  • Author: Cynthia Hand
  • Series: Unearthly #3
  • Previous Book: Hallowed (#2), Radiant (#2.5)
  • Source: Personal Purchase

Description from Goodreads:

The past few years held more surprises than part-angel Clara Gardner ever could have anticipated. Yet through the dizzying high of first love to the agonizing low of losing someone close to her, the one thing she could no longer deny was that she was never meant to have a normal life.

Since discovering the special role she plays among the other angel-bloods, Clara has been determined to protect Tucker Avery from the evil that follows her . . . even if it means breaking both their hearts. Leaving town seemed like the best option, so she’s headed back to California—and so is Christian Prescott, the irresistible boy from the vision that started her on this journey in the first place.

As Clara makes her way in a world that is frighteningly new, she discovers that the fallen angel who attacked her is watching her every move. And he’s not the only one. . . . With the battle against the Black Wings looming, Clara knows she must finally fulfil her destiny. But it won’t come without sacrifices and betrayal.

In the riveting finale of the Unearthly series, Clara must choose her fate once and for all.

Review

This has got to be one of the best finales I’ve ever read, and easily the best book I’ve read so far this year. Seriously, I’ve read or heard about several finales to series that were either huge disappointments, or at the very least, didn’t meet readers’ expectations. For example, even though I loved the series, I thought that Mockingjay was very slow-paced and somewhat boring in comparison to the first two books in the series. I cannot say that about Boundless, though.

I’m having a hard time even putting my feelings into organized words, so if this comes out a bit rambling, that’s why. The book starts off as Clara starts college, and it seems a little slow at first. But later in the book, little things that I may not have even thought much of became important. This book was very well thought out. There was nothing extraneous about it.

What I loved the most was the action. Whereas many last books have less action than previous books, this one has more. From about the halfway point, big things start happening, and an epic battle ensues. However, I was always on the edge of my seat, expecting bad things to happen when they didn’t, and not expecting things to happen when they did.

The story lines of all the major characters converge in this book (Clara, Christian & Tucker, obviously, but we also see Angela, Jeffrey, and even Samjeeza) in intense and unexpected ways, and I found myself breathless, wondering what they were getting themselves into or how they were going to get out of certain situations.

Of course, at the center of the story was the ever-present love triangle between Clara, Christian, and Tucker. Honestly, this was one of the hardest triangles I’ve ever read because I could not pick a side. Sure, there was the one I preferred, but maybe the other one was better for her. Who would she choose? Could Clara choose Tucker, or would it always put him in danger? Should she choose Christian, and if she did, could she get over Tucker? Right up until the very, very end, Cynthia Hand kept me guessing.

As you know from my previous reviews, I hate predictability. There was maybe one thing in this whole book that I predicted, but certainly not before reading the book. It was just something that I saw coming, but it was a pretty minor thing in the scheme of things. Other than that, every time I thought I knew what was going to happen or even what was happening at the time, I would be thrown for a loop. It was great!

This book had everything I would ever need in a book. There was friendship, relationships, love, trust, betrayal, action, heartwarming moments, and heartbreaking moments. There was even a moment where I thought I might have to throw my kindle across the room, and even that turned out to be not what I expected at all. In short, this book was an excellent read, an excellent end to the series, and easily my favorite of the series! Of course, that it inevitably leaves me with one problem: Now I want more! Why do final books always make me want more, when it’s supposed to be the end? lol I loved this book so much that I will probably reread it, and soon! And this book makes me wish I had more stars in my rating scale. 5 (very enthusiastic) stars!

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Favorite Quotes:

Inside there are a couple DVDs, magazines, my dog-eared copy of Vampire Academy and a few other books, a pair of dress shoes I loaned her for prom.

~Location 96 (Love the VA reference!)

Wan Chen is playing Farmville on Facebook, her great weakness.

~Location 1411 (I play Farmville 2 all the time, and I used to be addicted to the original Farmville!)

He called me Carrots.

~Location 2324 (*sigh*)

That’s it. After that, I got too sucked in to think about highlighting!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Review – Boundless by Cynthia Hand

  1. […] memory. lol Anyway, in the last week, I finished Boundless by Cynthia Hand (SO good! My review is here), If the Shoe Fits by Sarah Mlynowski (review), and finished listening to The Golden Lily by […]

  2. […] Boundless by Cynthia Hand (5 stars) […]

  3. […] Boundless (Unearthly #3) by Cynthia Hand […]

  4. […] of Water by Jenn Cooksey Dystopian YA:  Shatter Me and Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi Paranormal YA: Boundless by Cynthia Hand Fantasy YA: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini […]

  5. […] Boundless by Cynthia Hand – I think this was the most perfect ending to a series I’ve ever read, and as the Unearthly series was the first angel series I’ve ever read, I think it’s going to ruin all other angel books for me! lol […]

Leave a Reply

