Book Beginnings/ Friday 56 #11

*I decided to smarten up, so the book covers now have captions with the title and author and also link to their Goodreads descriptions.

Rules:

  • Grab a book, any book.
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
  • Find any sentence (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
  • Post it.

(hosted by Freda’s Voice)

Page 56:

 10429045.jpg image by mrso822

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

A heavy sigh. I feel him shift in the darkness and soon his body is too close so disarmingly close to mine. His hand is on my lower back and he’s guiding me through the corridors toward an unknown destination. Every inch of my skin is blushing. I have to hold myself upright to keep from falling backward into his arms.

_____________________________________________________________

Rules:

Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.

Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

Felicia Miller was crying in the bathroom. Again.

My Thoughts

Hmmm…interesting. Who is Felicia Miller? Why is she crying? And why again? What’s wrong with this poor girl? The first two sentences of the prologue certainly spark several questions and makes me curious and wanting to keep reading! I’ve got a ways to go in my current book before I can find out, though!

Tagged: ,

5 thoughts on “Book Beginnings/ Friday 56 #11

  1. fredamans February 1, 2013 at 11:48 am Reply

    I really want to read both of those books.

    • Mommy's Reading Break February 1, 2013 at 11:49 am Reply

      My funds are running low, so I borrowed them both from the library! I tried the audio of Shatter Me, but it was just weird. It’s pretty good so far. I’m still trying to get used to the writing style. It’s different from anything I’ve ever read!

  2. Sandra Nachlinger February 1, 2013 at 1:28 pm Reply

    I love the line “Every inch of my skin is blushing” from SHATTER ME. What a great description! The beginning of HEX HALL grabbed me too. Two books I’m looking forward to reading.
    Today I’m featuring LOVE AND SLEEPLESS NIGHTS on my blog.

  3. Elizabeth February 1, 2013 at 9:59 pm Reply

    I love these first lines….thanks. Very interesting.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Book Beginnings

Leave a Reply

