Book Beginnings/ Friday 56 #12

Sorry this is so late. It’s been a busy day.

Rules:

Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.

Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

The world might be sunny-side up today

The big ball of yellow might be spilling into the clouds, runny and yolky and blurring into the bluest sky, bright with cold hope and false promises about fond memories, real families, hearty breakfasts, stacks of pancakes drizzled in maple syrup sitting on a plate in a world that doesn’t exist anymore.

My Thoughts

These sentences don’t really give too much away, but I thought they were very descriptive and a great reminder that Juliette lives in a true dystopian society.

_____________________________________________________________

Rules:

  • Grab a book, any book.
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
  • Find any sentence (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
  • Post it.

(hosted by Freda’s Voice)

Page 56:

Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

 And I decide I should probably kill Kenij, too. Just for being an idiot.

Tagged: ,

4 thoughts on “Book Beginnings/ Friday 56 #12

  1. Sandra Nachlinger February 8, 2013 at 10:52 pm Reply

    I’m intrigued, even though this isn’t my usual genre. Your Book Beginning and Friday 56 both make me want to know more.
    My Book Beginnings/Friday 56 post features DAKOTA MOON.

    • Mommy's Reading Break February 12, 2013 at 9:59 pm Reply

      I thought it was really good, but it combines two of my favorite genres, so I may be a bit biased.

  2. fredamans February 9, 2013 at 10:58 am Reply

    Good reason to kill someone! LOL

Leave a Reply

