Quick Recap of Pitch Dark Days

Hi everyone! Sorry this post is so late. I went to Pitch Dark Days Thursday night and got home kind of late. Friday I was busy sorting girl scout cookies (The joys of being the troop’s cookie mom!), and then the blizzard hit. It was kind of funny, though, because the authors at Pitch Dark Days were referring to “snow-mageddon”! Anyway, I was reading Unravel Me, and we lost power at 11:20pm Friday night and didn’t get it back until some time between 4 and 7 this morning! Luckily, we have a generator, so we had heat, but we had no internet!

I don’t go into Boston by myself, so my husband went with me while the girls stayed home with my mom. We took the train, and it was pretty smooth sailing. The location was small, and I ended up sitting right behind Lauren from Slaying Books and Amy from Book Loving Mom. They were really cool and encouraging, considering this blog is so new and small still! Actually, thanks to Lauren for most of these pics. Both my and hubby’s phones were close to dead, so we didn’t take any pics until the very end.

First, the authors there were Brodi Ashton (Everneath, Everbound), Cynthia Hand (Unearthly, Hallowed, Boundless), Tahereh Mafi (Shatter Me, Unravel Me), and Veronica Rossi (Under the Never Sky, Through the Ever Night). They started off by telling a little about their books, and then answered a few questions, such as how they started writing and if they’d consider writing for different ages. There were other questions, but I can’t remember them right now.

After they answered questions, we were able to get our books signed. It was really cool, though I had an open-mouth-insert-foot moment with Cynthia Hand. She asked if I was Team Tucker or Team Christian, and I told her I wasn’t really sure because I could see the appeal of both of them. Then I told her that there was a certain scene where I wanted to throw the book against the wall, but then it got all fixed, and I was happy. Well, when she signed my book, she wrote “I’m glad you didn’t end up throwing your book”. Oops… *blush* I also got to talk to Tahereh Mafi a little and told her that I’d seen interviews with her and thought she was hilarious. When she went to sign my book, I told her that my bookmark was in it, so she wanted to see where I was in the book. I was using the bookmark my oldest daughter brought home from school last year that was made from her school picture, and Tahereh asked if that was my daughter. She and Veronica Rossi said that she was adorable! (I have to agree! lol)

After that, we headed home. I had a great time. It was cool to meet a couple other bloggers and to actually get to talk to the authors. Also, it was really easy to get there. We didn’t even have to change trains! So I would definitely go again if more authors that I know/like come around!

Anyway, here are the pics. The pics are from Lauren at Slaying Books, other than the 2 that I’m in.

Cynthia Hand (left) and Brodi Ashton (right)

Veronica Rossi (left) and Tahereh Mafi (right)

Me with Cynthia Hand (and all my books)

Me with Tahereh Mafi

I didn’t get any pics of myself with Amy and Lauren. I don’t know why I didn’t think of that. lol Maybe next time!

Tagged:

5 thoughts on “Quick Recap of Pitch Dark Days

  1. Amy @ Book Loving Mom February 11, 2013 at 5:32 pm Reply

    Great recap!! My recap won’t be going up until Thursday probably. I have at least two posts scheduled every other day this week except tomorrow and I am far too lazy to put the post together right now to be ready for tomorrow. Lol!!

    • Mommy's Reading Break February 11, 2013 at 5:46 pm Reply

      lol With any luck, you have a better memory than I do, and I’ll edit this post to link to yours! I just wrote 3 reviews and this post, so I have a post a day through Saturday, counting my memes. I feel much better having those reviews written, though one of them was REALLY hard to write without spoilers!

  2. Jac @ For Love and Books February 12, 2013 at 12:57 pm Reply

    I am still so incredibly jealous!!! I looks/sounds like such a great time.(and totally jealous of your meeting other bloggers!!

    • Mommy's Reading Break February 12, 2013 at 10:00 pm Reply

      It was so funny. I follow Lauren on Twitter and had mentioned that maybe I’d see her there, and then I randomly ended up sitting next to her and Amy!

      It was so cool. I would definitely go to another one. Maybe there will be a cool signing near you!

  3. […] that amount of time, I have posted 59 reviews, gone to my first author signing, and a lot more. I’ve read some great books and met some great bloggers. I really appreciate […]

Leave a Reply

