Review – Destroy Me by Tahereh Mafi

  • Title: Destroy Me
  • Author: Tahereh Mafi
  • Series: Shatter Me #1.5
  • Previous Book: Shatter Me (#1)
  • Next Book: Unravel Me (#2)
  • Source: Personal Purchase

Description from Goodreads:

Perfect for the fans of Shatter Me who are desperately awaiting the release of Unravel Me, this novella-length digital original will bridge the gap between these two novels from the perspective of the villain we all love to hate, Warner, the ruthless leader of Sector 45.

In Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me, Juliette escaped from The Reestablishment by seducing Warner—and then putting a bullet in his shoulder. But as she’ll learn in Destroy Me, Warner is not that easy to get rid of. . .

Back at the base and recovering from his near-fatal wound, Warner must do everything in his power to keep his soldiers in check and suppress any mention of a rebellion in the sector. Still as obsessed with Juliette as ever, his first priority is to find her, bring her back, and dispose of Adam and Kenji, the two traitors who helped her escape. But when Warner’s father, The Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment, arrives to correct his son’s mistakes, it’s clear that he has much different plans for Juliette. Plans Warner simply cannot allow.

Set after Shatter Me and before its forthcoming sequel, Unravel Me,Destroy Me is a novella told from the perspective of Warner, the ruthless leader of Sector 45.

Review

This review will contain spoilers for Shatter Me. If you haven’t read Shatter Me, proceed at your own risk.

I know that some people are not a fan of novellas set within a series, but I love them! I always have questions and love backstory, so any extra info I can get within a series I enjoy is welcomed! So as soon as I saw that there was a novella between Shatter Me and Unravel Me, I knew I had to read it.

Destroy Me is a novella told from Warner (the main antagonist’s) perspective, and it overlaps parts of Shatter Me and Unravel Me and the time in between. It picks up right after Juliette shoots Warner and escapes. I found it interesting to see Warner’s reaction to Juliette having shot him and to see his feelings regarding his soldiers and how he handles his injury.

A new character is introduced in Destroy Me:  Supreme Commander Anderson, otherwise known as Warner’s father, and to say that he’s not a nice man would be an understatement. However, with the appearance of Warner’s father, we’re able to see some more of why Warner is the way he is and learn a little more about his character.

As I said before, I really enjoy backstory, so I really liked seeing events from Warner’s perspective and learning more about his past and personality. Also, since Warner stole Juliette’s notebook in Shatter Me, we see him start reading it in Destroy Me, allegedly looking for a clue as to where Juliette may have run off to. These scenes are interesting  because they give a little more insight to both Warner and Juliette’s characters.

The scene at the end is my favorite. Without giving too much away, it shows a bit of Warner’s softer side, but there’s also a strange scene that may or may not be what it appears to be, which got me excited for the next book!

I would recommend Destroy Me for anyone who loves any and all information in a series and wants to see more of Warner’s personality.

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Quotes I Liked:

This pen is my only outlet, my only voice, because I have no one else to speak to, no mind but my own to drown in and all the lifeboats are taken and all the life preservers are broken and I don’t know how to swim I can’t swim I can’t swim and it’s getting so hard.

– Location 567

This girl is destroying me.

– Location 718

Empathy is not an emotion I’ve ever known, but now it’s drowning me, pulling me into a world I never knew I could enter.

-Location 766

Love is a heartless bastard.

-Location 1198

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Review – Destroy Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. […] Destroy Me by Tahereh Mafi (4 stars) […]

  2. […] 100 pages – Destroy Me by Tahereh Mafi at 103 […]

  3. […] I wouldn’t have to wait until February for more in that world, I pre-ordered it right away. I loved Destroy Me and thought that Fracture Me would be another great glimpse at what is going on in the world […]

  4. […] that he’s not the monster we initially believed him to be (Then again, if you’ve read Destroy Me, this is not a big surprise.) We also see Adam’s bad side. But by far, the most growth is by […]

Leave a Reply

