Top Ten Favorite Characters in YA Paranormal

https://i2.wp.com/3.bp.blogspot.com/-T6ycYM15EZk/TWx5ZpS0j-I/AAAAAAAAAeA/cEIZ0CpKO-k/s1600/TTT3W.jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is Top Ten Favorite Characters in X Genre. Since I tend to read A LOT of YA Paranormal, I decided to go with those. Be warned that I’ll probably pick a couple characters from the same book/series.

 30183_zps44406f93.jpg image by mrso822  

  

1.)   Jacob Black: I can’t have a list of YA Paranormal without mentioning the book that started my fascination with this genre: Twilight. And even though he was meant to be a side character, best friend, I fell in love with Jacob, even forgetting how young he is! He is just the perfect teenage boyfriend and who I wish I had in my life as a teenager.

2.)   Aphrodite LaFont: Aphrodite from P.C. & Kristin Cast’s House of Night series starts off as the typical popular queen bee from Hell! But as the story progresses, her character evolves. Still, she’s blunt and honest, which leads to her saying some pretty hilarious (if sometimes cruel) things!

3.) Rose Hathaway: Rose from Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy series was my first experience with a real kick-ass main *female* character. Her love scenes were great, but seeing her fight with men and usually win totally won me over!

4.) Tod Hudson: Tod from Rachel Vincent’s Soul Screamers series was the book boyfriend I never expected to have. He started off as a smart-ass reaper who was always getting in Kaylee and Nash’s way to my absolute favorite character in the series! The way he was constantly helping and looking out for Kaylee just really warmed my heart!

5.) Kaylee Cavanaugh: Speaking of Kaylee, she is another one of my favorite characters. She starts off timid and unsure, but evolves so much over the course of the series. I haven’t read the last book yet, but by the end of the 6th, I am impressed with her confidence!

6.) Adrian Ivashkov: From Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series, Adrian is one of my favorite characters of all time! I fell in love with him early on in the VA series. There was just something about him. How he seemed to not take life too seriously, but also was just so passionate. When I found out he was going to be one of the main characters in Bloodlines, I was THRILLED!

7.) Tucker Avery: Tucker, from Cynthia Hand’s Unearthly series, was a character that I never saw coming. From the beginning of the book, I was obsessed with Christian (as was Clara), and Tucker just kind of snuck up on me. What I loved most about him is that he was one of the only humans in this story full of the supernatural, and yet he stood out above all the rest.

I’m currently obsessed with Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me, so all the rest are from that series:

8.) Juliette Ferrars: Though absolutely frustrating at times and not entirely stable, there is just something interesting about Juliette. I also love that even though society has totally turned against her and shunned her, she never let that decrease her morals!

9.) Warner: I know his first name, but I’ll leave it out for anyone who hasn’t read Unravel Me yet. Though Warner is the main antagonist of the series, there’s just something about him. He is so intense and complicated that I just find him interesting, and I love his scenes with Juliette.

10.) Kenji Kishimoto: Kenji is the antithesis of Warner. Though he’s serious and intense when he needs to be, for the most part, Kenji is the comic relief in the series. Almost every scene with him has a funny line, and I think he’s absolutely necessary in a series that can be so heavy at time.

 

So, what about you? Who are some of your favorite characters?

 

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Favorite Characters in YA Paranormal

  1. Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know February 19, 2013 at 8:35 pm Reply

    Great list! So many goodies! So many of my favorites. I’m finally reading Unearthly right now!

    Check out my TTT.

    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

    • Mommy's Reading Break February 19, 2013 at 9:40 pm Reply

      Oh, I hope you like it! The first two books were pretty good, but I LOVED the last one!

Leave a Reply

