Book Beginnings/ Friday 56 #14

Rules:

  • Grab a book, any book.
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
  • Find any sentence (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
  • Post it.

(hosted by Freda’s Voice)

56% on my Kindle:

The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead

“Sorry. I can’t keep track of everyone’s dating lives. I’ll add it to my to-do list after, you know, busting Alchemist conspiracies and finding out whether the Warriors are after Jill.”

_____________________________________________________________

 

 

 

 

Rules:

Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.

Neferet’s Curse by P.C. & Kristin Cast

January 15th, 1893

Emily Wheiler’s Journal

Entry: the first

This is not a diary. I loathe the very thought of compiling my thoughts and actions in a locked book, secreted away as if they were precious jewels.

I know my thoughts are not precious jewels.

 

My Thoughts

I found this an interesting beginning. First of all, it specifically states that it’s Emily’s journal, yet she says it’s not a diary. I know those words have somewhat different connotations, but they’re very similar objects. Also, it made me curious. If she loathes the very thought of what she’s doing, then why’s she doing it? Hmmm…

Tagged: ,

6 thoughts on “Book Beginnings/ Friday 56 #14

  1. Vicki February 22, 2013 at 11:17 am Reply

    Great 56! Love the sense of humor!
    Here’s My 56

  2. fredamans February 22, 2013 at 11:39 am Reply

    Yeah, wouldn’t be a high priority to me either with that list of things to do… lol…

  3. Rose City Reader February 22, 2013 at 2:23 pm Reply

    That is an interesting beginning, you are right. Thanks for participating in Book Beginnings on Friday!

    Rose City Reader

Leave a Reply

