Review – Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

  • Title: Anna and the French Kiss
  • Author: Stephanie Perkins
  • Series: No
  • Source: Personal Purchase

Description from Goodreads:

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming,beautiful, Étienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend.

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?

Review

I’ve been avoiding writing this review, and even now, I’m having a hard time with it. I think this review would be easier to write if I loved or hated Anna and the French Kiss, but I didn’t. Even now, more than a week after finishing, I’m having a hard time figuring out my feelings for it.

Honestly, I think I just expected more from it. This is a book that I have been seeing people rave about online for months, so I think I just had too high of expectations. But it wasn’t terrible either. I know that I tend to not be a huge contemporary fan, but I have found some that I’ve loved, so I know that isn’t the only factor at play here.

I think the biggest problem for me was that I just didn’t connect with Anna or St. Clair. Anna seemed whiny to me. I get it. You were sent away to a foreign country, where you don’t know anyone or the language, and you miss everyone at home. But ugh. I just had had enough of it very quickly. Also, St. Clair seemed likable enough, but there was nothing swoon-worthy about him for me. Also, I felt like every time their relationship started to get interesting, one of them would just say or do something stupid to ruin it. It was insanely frustrating for me.

Another thing that I think this book had against it for me is that, unlike most people, I’m not a fan of France. Reading French words frustrates me, and while I think it might be nice to visit Paris, I don’t really have any strong desire to go there. I know, I’m totally the odd duck with this because most people DREAM about Paris, the city of love, but I just have no interest in it. (*runs and hides*)

What I did like about Anna and the French Kiss is that there was no insta-love. There was instant attraction on Anna’s part, but she didn’t think that she was in love with St. Clair right away. I liked that St. Clair had a British accent (I was DYING for an audiobook when I found that out! lol) I liked that Anna wasn’t a jerk when she realized she had feelings for St. Clair. She didn’t immediately set out to steal him from his girlfriend or anything, which did make me respect her some. There were also several funny moments.

Overall, I thought that Anna and the French Kiss was an okay book, but that it just wasn’t the right book for me. I think I had too high of expectations based on how many people I’ve seen love it, and was just left disappointed. However, I definitely see how many people would love this book, especially if you love Contemporaries, Romance, or Paris.

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Quotes I Liked:

I point dumbly at my room while my mind whirs: French name, English accent, American school. Anna confused.

~ Page 16

I’m a little distracted by this English French American Boy Masterpiece.

~ Page 26

Nice. My father sent me here to be cleansed

~ Page 27

“Because my father is made of suck.”

“The purest strain, dude.”

~ Page 54

It sucked balls. Dirty balls. Like I-ran-a-mile-in-July-while-wearing-leather-pants balls.

~ Page 62

“Huh?” I have such a way with words. I should write epic poetry or jingles for cat food commercials.

~ Page 85

“Did you just have a foodgasm?” he asks, wiping ricotta from his lips.

~ Page 88

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Review – Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

  1. […] Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins (2 stars) […]

  2. Lynn M September 17, 2013 at 10:28 am Reply

    I felt the same way about this book – wanted to love it a lot more than I actually did. I never found St. Clair that swoon-worthy – I hated that everyone called him “St. Clair” because it was awkward, but worse was when Anna starts calling him Etienne. And the fact that he was an American/Brit living in France, like the writer couldn’t choose one “cool” thing to make him so she just mixed together three things. Just didn’t work for me.

    As for your desire to listen to the audio version so you can enjoy St. Clair’s accent? I recommend you DON’T! I listened to the audio version narrated by Kim Mai Guest and her attempt at St. Claire was dismal – it pretty much ruined the character for me. I ended up switching the book because I couldn’t take it any more.

    • Mommy's Reading Break September 17, 2013 at 10:42 am Reply

      Thank you so much for this comment! I felt like EVERYONE loved this book except for me, so it’s nice to know I’m not alone! I have definitely read more swoon-worthy characters and better contemporaries than this book, but everyone seemed to love it. And thanks for the note on the audio. I HATE bad audios. I’ve had to DNF several and move on to the actual book because the narration was just so bad.

Leave a Reply

