Top Ten (er, Eight) Authors That I’d Put On My Auto-Buy List

https://i2.wp.com/3.bp.blogspot.com/-T6ycYM15EZk/TWx5ZpS0j-I/AAAAAAAAAeA/cEIZ0CpKO-k/s1600/TTT3W.jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is Top Ten Authors That I’d Put On My Auto-Buy List “(basically an auto-buy list is no questions asked..you love this author so much that no matter what they wrote next you’d buy regardless of genre or subject matter)”. This one is a hard one for me, but here we go:

1.)   Stephenie Meyer: I know people hater her, and I have definitely read some much better books since reading Twilight, but I LOVED Twilight. It was the book (series, whatever) that rekindled my love of reading back in 2009, so essentially the reason this blog exists. I also really liked The Host, so until she puts out something that I really hate, I’ll be buying/reading anything she puts out.

2.)   Dan Brown: I tend to read more YA than Adult books at this point, but I really LOVED Angels & Demons and The DaVinci Code. Though not my favorites, I have read all 3 of Dan Brown’s other novels and will be reading his new book that comes out this year. Again, until I absolutely hate something of his, I’ll continue reading!

3.) Jenn Cooksey: I’m not usually a Contemporary or Romance fan, but Shark Bait was so funny that I forgot that it was a love story a lot of times. It was such a great book, and I look forward to reading more from her!

4.) Richelle Mead: So far, I have only read Richelle’s YA series, but I really enjoyed them, and I plan on reading the rest of her books.

5.) Rachel Vincent: Like Richelle Mead, I haven’t read everything Rachel Vincent has put out, but I enjoyed her Soul Screamers series so much that I plan on continuing to read what she writes.

6.) Veronica Roth: After Divergent and Insurgent, I am anxious for the finale of the trilogy, but I”m also curious to see what else she comes up with!

7.) Tahereh Mafi: I still am reeling from how much I loved Unravel Me, so again, I’m looking forward to seeing what else she comes out with!

8.) David EstesI’ve only read one of his eleven currently released titles, but I really enjoyed it. I also interact with him a lot on Goodreads, and he’s an awesome guy, so again, until he comes out with something I hate, I will definitely be continuing with his books.

And that’s about all I can come up with at this point. I’m usually really hesitant about books, even by authors I love, without reading the descriptions, so this whole list could potentially go out the window! lol

Also, I feel the need to point out that had I made this list about 6 months ago, JK Rowling would have been on it. However, I really, really didn’t like The Casual Vacancy, so I guess she would only be on my auto-buy list if her book was Children’s/YA.

So, what about you? Who are some of your favorite authors that you would auto-buy?

Tagged:

10 thoughts on “Top Ten (er, Eight) Authors That I’d Put On My Auto-Buy List

  1. Krista February 26, 2013 at 9:53 am Reply

    LOVE Veronica Roth… good choice!

  2. Jac @ For Love and Books February 26, 2013 at 10:37 am Reply

    I was going to put Stephanie Meyer on my list – but then I remembered that despite NUMEROUS tries? I just can’t read The Host… so I guess she’s not on my “auto” list…

    • Mommy's Reading Break February 26, 2013 at 4:48 pm Reply

      Really? I didn’t think The Host was as good as Twilight, but I liked it. I plan on rereading it next month before seeing the movie. Unlike Twilight, it isn’t one I’ve read multiple times, so I don’t remember too much.

  3. David Estes February 26, 2013 at 10:57 am Reply

    Aww thank you so much for including me on this list!!

    • Mommy's Reading Break February 26, 2013 at 4:49 pm Reply

      No problem, David! And I promise to get to the rest of your books soon! They will be read in 2013, preferably in the first half!

  4. Susan (Bloggin' 'bout Books) February 26, 2013 at 2:50 pm Reply

    I feel the same way about Rowling. If she writes another MG or YA book, it will definitely be an auto-buy. Other than that, I don’t know … I’ve heard nothing but negative things about CASUAL VACANCY.

    Glad to have found you via TTT 🙂

    • Mommy's Reading Break February 26, 2013 at 4:50 pm Reply

      I did read The Casual Vacancy, and while I wasn’t expecting Harry Potter, I was expecting something more interesting. It just was not for me. I hope whatever she writes next, whether it’s for MG or Adults, will be better.

  5. Quinn February 26, 2013 at 7:19 pm Reply

    I really like that you included Stephenie Meyer. She isn’t on my list, but I get so tired of all the Twilight hate I see now. I mean, I think people have a right to not like Twilight, but I feel like it is the popular thing to do now – Hate Twilight. It just gets on my nerves. And Twilight isn’t even a favorite book of mine.

    • Mommy's Reading Break February 26, 2013 at 9:16 pm Reply

      I absolutely agree with you. I’m actually listening to Twilight on audio right now after not reading it for a couple years, and I’ll admit that I have definitely read better books in that time, but regardless, it got a lot of people reading, which I believe is more important! And having read both, I can easily say that I think it was way better than 50 Shades of Grey!

Leave a Reply

