Book Beginnings/ Friday 56 #15

Rules:

  • Grab a book, any book.
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
  • Find any sentence (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
  • Post it.

(hosted by Freda’s Voice)

Page 56:

Wither by Lauren DeStefano

“The Start of a new day,” Linden says. “Being healthy enough to witness it.”

_____________________________________________________________

Rules:

Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.

Fever by Lauren DeStefano

We run, with water in our shoes and the smell of the ocean clinging to our frozen skin.

My Thoughts

This beginning makes me wonder what has happened between the ending of Wither and now to make them run while obviously soaked in ocean water in the middle of winter!

Tagged: ,

8 thoughts on “Book Beginnings/ Friday 56 #15

  1. Juli @ A Universe in Words March 1, 2013 at 11:24 am Reply

    I love the sound of ‘Fever’ and it makes me want to go to the ocean! And the cover is gorgeous! Same for ‘Whither’! Thanks for sharing! Here’s my Friday post!
    Juli @ Universe in Words

  2. fredamans March 1, 2013 at 1:21 pm Reply

    Oh I want to read that series!!!

    • Mommy's Reading Break March 2, 2013 at 10:09 pm Reply

      I’m not done with Fever yet, but so far I liked the first one better. I’ll have to wait ’til I finish the last book to really decide whether I’d recommend it.

  3. rosecityreader March 2, 2013 at 1:47 pm Reply

    Hard to know if that is a happy beginning or a scary/tragic one.

    Thanks for posting on Book Beginnings on Fridays!

    Rose City Reader

  4. I’ve read so many differing reviews for Withered I’ve been a little skeptical. This 56 and the book beginning for the next one make me really curious about it again.
    My Friday 56

    • Mommy's Reading Break March 2, 2013 at 10:10 pm Reply

      So far, I’m not sure how I feel about it. When I finish the series, I’ll better be able to tell whether I’d recommend it.

Leave a Reply

