Top Ten Books I Recommend The Most

https://i2.wp.com/3.bp.blogspot.com/-T6ycYM15EZk/TWx5ZpS0j-I/AAAAAAAAAeA/cEIZ0CpKO-k/s1600/TTT3W.jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is Top Ten Books I Recommend the Most. I don’t have a lot of friends who read or ask my opinion, so I don’t actually recommend a lot of books, but here are the top ten books I would recommend if asked!

           

  1. Angels & Demons (or Robert Langdon series) by Dan BrownThis is an adult mystery book that I read shortly after The DaVinci Code movie came out. I’m not usually a fan of mystery or history, but I loved the way Dan Brown wrote this story. My copy was over 700 pages, and I whipped right through it!
  2. The Hunger Games (trilogy) by Suzanne Collins: I read The Hunger Games before I even knew what dystopian was, and it started a love for the genre that continues 3 years later! There are definitely some graphic, disturbing parts, but I thought that it was a great, high intensity read.
  3. Divergent (trilogy) by Veronica Roth : My second foray into YA dystopian, and I was not disappointed. I loved Tris as a character and just found the whole premise of the different factions fascinating.
  4. Shark Bait by Jenn Cooksey: This is the first (and only, so far) book in a series. I guess it would technically qualify as a YA contemporary, but what I loved most about it was that it was hilarious. I thought it was realistic in its portrayal of teenagers but definitely in a laugh-out-loud kind of way!
  5. Harry Potter (series) by JK Rowling: I was the target age when this series came out, but I thought it was too good for it. I finally gave it a chance at age 25, and I loved it so much that I read it at least once a year. The magic is amazing, along with the world and creatures that JK came up with, but more importantly, the growth of the characters throughout the series is amazing. If you haven’t read it, I would highly recommend it. (Yes, believe it or not, there are people who haven’t read this yet! lol)
  6. Soul Screamers (series) by Rachel Vincent: When I first started this series, I just thought it was your run-of-the-mill YA paranormal, and I think I rated the first couple books at 3 stars, but as the series progressed, it became more intense, the stakes higher, and more surprising. The last book in the series just came out today, and I cannot wait to read it!
  7. Vampire Academy (series) by Richelle Mead: I originally thought that Vampire Academy would be just another vampire book, but it was so much more. The relationships were great, the stakes were high, and it had one of the most ass-kicking female leads I’ve ever seen. It also had some absolutely swoon-worthy guys.
  8. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult: I love Jodi Picoult’s writing style. In the books I’ve read of hers, she presents you with a situation. You think you know what’s going on, and then you get all the facts and realize you knew nothing. My Sister’s Keeper is a heartbreaking tale of a child with cancer and her siblings who felt abandoned, but I thought it was absolutely amazingly written, especially if you’re looking for a good cry.
  9. The Fault in Our Stars by John GreenKeeping with the cancer theme of My Sister’s Keeper, The Fault in Our Stars is another great YA contemporary dealing with cancer. What I loved about his one, though, is that it is good for a good cry as well, but for the first half of the book, Hazel is just so funny and lively that you almost forget that you’re reading about a girl with cancer. This book left me feeling all kinds of confused because I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry half the time. Definitely a great read.
  10. Unearthly (trilogy) by Cynthia Hand: What I loved most about Unearthly was the fact that it was a YA paranormal that didn’t deal with vampires or werewolves. The angel portions of the book were very realistic (um, as realistic as a paranormal can be), and more importantly, a well-executed love triangle. Both guys were so amazing that I felt Clara couldn’t go wrong either way.

Honorable mentions:

Twilight (series) by Stephenie Meyer: This series gets a lot of flack, but I loved it. I have actually recommend it to several people who have also loved it. No, the writing isn’t great, but it had a story that just sucked me in. In retrospect, if I overthink it, yes, it’s a bit cheesy, but it sucked me in and rekindled my love of reading.

House of Night (series) by P.C. & Kristin Cast: This is another one that I’ve recommended a few times but with mixed reviews. My sister liked it, one of my friends seems to be loving it, and another one just thought it was boring, so as much as I love it, I’m hesitant to recommend it to people.

What about you? What books do you recommend most? Come on, add to my TBR list! 😉

Tagged:

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Recommend The Most

  1. Amanda March 26, 2013 at 3:14 pm Reply

    I LOVE your list! Many match my list, including Twilight and My Sister’s Keeper, which are ones that I haven’t seen on many lists. 🙂

    • Mommy's Reading Break March 28, 2013 at 9:59 am Reply

      I think Twilight gets a bad rap. And yes, it’s kind of cheesy, but there’s just something about that story that just sucked me in!

  2. Jeannius March 26, 2013 at 7:16 pm Reply

    Wow, some of your top 5 books are on my list too! I love Angels and Demons its still one of my favourite books ever, along with Harry Potter, VA, Divergent, and the Hunger Games. I haven’t read Rachel Vincent’s series yet but I plan to 🙂 thanks for the post!

    • Mommy's Reading Break March 28, 2013 at 10:00 am Reply

      Angels & Demons was so good! I don’t think his other books have really compared, but they’re pretty good, too. I HIGHLY recommend the Soul Screamers series. It starts off a little slowly, but it gets so much better!

  3. amyo3119 March 27, 2013 at 12:44 am Reply

    What a great list!

Leave a Reply

