Book Beginnings/ Friday 56 #18

Sorry everyone. I skipped doing this post last week because we had Easter dinner on Friday because my sister had to work on Easter. But I’m back this week with some great books!

Rules:

  • Grab a book, any book.
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
  • Find any sentence (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
  • Post it.

(hosted by Freda’s Voice)

In honor of my cover reveal this morning, I’m choosing to do my Friday 56 on Shark Bait by Jenn Cooksey!

Page 56:

Shark Bait by Jenn Cooksey

Me: k thx. ttfn. (Yeah, I still like Tigger…he’s bouncy, flouncy, trouncy, pouncy, fun-fun-fun-fun-FUN!) (And yeah, I’m a dork.)

_____________________________________________________________

Rules:

Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.

The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

The basement hallways in King’s College of Medical Research were dark, even in the daytime.

At night they were like a grave.

Rats crawled through corridors that dripped with cold perspiration. The chill in the sunken rooms kept the specimens from rotting and numbed my own flesh, too, through the worn layers of my dress.

My Thoughts

I love these sentences. So descriptive of a creepy, chilling place. I loved them so much that as soon as I read them, I knew they’d have to be my Book Beginning for today!

Tagged: ,

12 thoughts on “Book Beginnings/ Friday 56 #18

  1. Rebecca @ The Key to the Gate April 5, 2013 at 9:55 am Reply

    The Madman’s Daughter sounds like it is going to be an eerie read! Great introduction!
    Happy Reading,
    Rebecca @ The Key to the Gate

  2. fredamans April 5, 2013 at 10:43 am Reply

    LOL @ the 56… too cute.
    And The Madman’s Daughter looks like my kind of book.

    • Mommy's Reading Break April 7, 2013 at 5:16 pm Reply

      Shark Bait was a totally fun read, and the sequel is supposed to come out at the end of the month. The Madman’s Daughter was creepy!

  3. Maria@Queen of All She Reads April 5, 2013 at 11:09 am Reply

    Shark Bait looks really cute! Very powerful beginning for The Madman’s Daughter.

    Here’s my Friday Meme Post

    • Mommy's Reading Break April 7, 2013 at 5:17 pm Reply

      Shark Bait is really good. I actually have a 5-star review of it posted here back in November. I LOVED the beginning of The Madman’s Daughter. I’m still trying to work out my feelings toward the book as a whole.

  4. The Polished Page-Turner April 5, 2013 at 12:55 pm Reply

    I loved the Madmen’s Daughter! The ending! Enjoy!

    • Mommy's Reading Break April 7, 2013 at 5:17 pm Reply

      It definitely had a powerful ending, though I’m not sure what the rest of the trilogy could be about.

      • The Polished Page-Turner April 7, 2013 at 7:37 pm

        Don’t quote me on this but I heard the sequel is more of a companion type novel. So same story, different main character?

      • Mommy's Reading Break April 7, 2013 at 8:20 pm

        Good to know. The goodreads description says: “The second volume in THE MADMAN’S DAUGHTER trilogy, continuing the story in London with inspiration from Robert Louis Stevenson’s THE STRANGE CASE OF DR JEKYLL AND MR HYDE.” Sounds interesting.

  5. Maria Behar April 6, 2013 at 3:50 pm Reply

    The quote from “Shark Bait” is really cute, as well as hilarious! As for “The Madman’s Daughter”….it reminds me so much of Poe! Sounds like a chilling good read!! 🙂

    • Mommy's Reading Break April 7, 2013 at 5:18 pm Reply

      I loved Shark Bait for exactly what you just said. It was really cute, but more importantly, it literally had me laughing out loud, A LOT! I loved it and would highly recommend it!

Leave a Reply

