Book Beginnings/ Friday 56 #19

I finished two books this week, so I decided to use those for this!

Rules:

  • Grab a book, any book.
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
  • Find any sentence (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
  • Post it.

(hosted by Freda’s Voice)

Page 56:

The Host by Stephenie Meyer

And at that moment, with the echo of the Seeker’s laugh still hanging in the air, I suddenly realized why they were so important.

_____________________________________________________________

Rules:

Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.

Reboot by Amy Tintera

They always screamed.

My assignment wailed as she slipped in the mud, whipping her head around to see if I was gaining on her.

I was.

My Thoughts

I thought this was a great beginning. It’s high-intensity and fast-paced and made me very interested to see what was going on.

Tagged: ,

10 thoughts on “Book Beginnings/ Friday 56 #19

  1. Jac @ For Love and Books April 12, 2013 at 10:51 am Reply

    Oooh! This is a fun one 🙂 I should think about participating next week!

    (And on a side note? I can’t read the Host. I’ve tried six different times and just can’t read it 😦 )

    • Mommy's Reading Break April 12, 2013 at 11:53 am Reply

      You should! I think I do too many memes, though. Really? Hmmmm…I guess it’s kind of slow. I liked it, though. It took me over a month, but the audio was decent. I mostly listened while doing dishes or laundry.

  2. rosecityreader April 12, 2013 at 11:01 am Reply

    That is a terrifying opening! Like a nightmare.

    Thanks for joining me on Book Beginnings!

    Rose City Reader

  3. fredamans April 12, 2013 at 2:15 pm Reply

    The Host is definitely one I want to read.

    • Mommy's Reading Break April 14, 2013 at 11:42 pm Reply

      I didn’t like it as much as Twilight, but I liked it. I’ve read Twilight 5 times in the past 3.5 years, but it took me 3.5 years to read The Host for a second time.

      • fredamans April 15, 2013 at 2:13 pm

        Wow, that is a big jump. Thanks for the honesty.

      • Mommy's Reading Break April 16, 2013 at 1:00 pm

        No problem. Like I said, I thought it was good and would probably recommend it, but I LOVED Twilight!

  4. yvonne473 April 12, 2013 at 11:00 pm Reply

    I read The Host awhile ago and loved. Hope you do too!

Leave a Reply

