Review – Shark Bait (reread) by Jenn Cooksey

  • Title: Shark Bait
  • Author: Jenn Cooksey
  • Series: Grab Your Pole #1
  • Next Book: The Other Fish in the Sea
  • Source: Gift from a friend

Description from Goodreads:

Previously homeschooled Camie Ramsey is being shoved into the shark-infested waters of public high school, where even helium filled, penguin bespeckled arm floaties likely won’t help keep her inexperienced, fifteen-year old head above water in that rip current of hormones and emotions.

Camie’s worldly wisdom might be severely lacking (i.e., the closest she’s come to being kissed was sitting too close to the TV whilst Jake Ryan leaned in to give Samantha that fateful 16th birthday kiss), but she does understand her only hope for survival is if she’s thrown some kind of “social” life preserver before she sinks like a freaking rock. However, what will her fate be when she endeavors to flag down the only lifeguard on duty, the enormously popular and ridiculously beautiful Tristan Daniels? The most sought after and virtually most unattainable guy in school who not only makes Camie’s heart flatline on a recurring basis, he’s also the one guy who seemingly doesn’t know she exists.

Feeling like an inept piece of chum that could ultimately be swallowed by Jaws, can Camie get Tristan to rescue her from floundering in the treacherous deep, or is she destined to be Shark Bait?

Review

When my friend Jac (For Love and Books) and I found out that Jenn Cooksey was releasing The Other Fish in the Sea on April 23rd, we arranged a joint reread of Shark Bait in anticipation! I’ll admit that I was actually a little nervous; I mean, I loved Shark Bait so much the first time around, but what if it just wasn’t the same? What if I didn’t love it as much?

I will admit that there is nothing like reading a great book for the first time, and I would kill for that feeling over and over again, but I was not disappointed by my reread. I loved it just as much. Granted, I may not have laughed out loud quite as frequently, but there were still moments that had me cracking up, even having read it before.

What surprised me the most during my reread of Shark Bait was how much I had forgotten about it. I mean, in reading, I quickly caught on and remembered it, but I had forgotten it was coming in the first place. (Does that make sense? lol) Also, there was something hinted at that I was absolutely positive about in both readings, and I kept waiting for the big reveal, trying to remember how it happened. Well, guess what? It didn’t happen. That’s why I couldn’t remember it! lol I just think it’s so funny that I was still so convinced that this was a thing in Shark Bait!

For the most part, I actually loved the characters more during my reread. I say for the most part because in the beginning of this reading of Shark Bait, Camie actually annoyed me a little, but that was only for the first couple chapters. After a while, I totally fell in love with her all over again. She’s such a funny kid. (Yes, I say kid. She’s 15, and I’m 28, for crying out loud!) And Tristan? Damn. He’s the hot guy we all wanted in high school! Kate is the best friend I wish I had, and Jeff is the romantic dumb-ass that I kind of wish my husband had been. (Yes, I married my high school sweetheart.) And I think Camie’s little sister Jill is the best smart-ass genius ever written. Though I, too, would be afraid of her if I really knew her! lol

I can’t say that I picked up anything new that I didn’t catch the first time around, but that’s not really what I was going for. I enjoyed reading Shark Bait just as much the second time as I did the first time!

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Review – Shark Bait (reread) by Jenn Cooksey

  1. Jac @ For Love and Books May 3, 2013 at 1:18 pm Reply

    I am with you!! I had totally forgotten so many big moments!! Of course I remembered them as I was reading, like Joey? I’d forgotten totally. And a few others! But I also agree, I think I feel a deeper connection with the characters now.

    Great (re) review!!! We’ll have to do it again when Shark out Of Water comes out!!

  2. […] Shark Bait by Jenn Cooksey reread (5 stars) […]

  3. […] EVER. But the night before Book 2 came out? I re-read Shark Bait.  (Along with my fabulous friend, Deanna at Mommy’s Reading Break!) And then, for two days after reading TOFitS, I couldn’t even pretend to be interested in […]

  4. […] Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi before the final book comes out. The Grab Your Pole series by Jenn Cooksey. Harry Potter since I read it about once a […]

Leave a Reply

