Top Ten – okay, Nine – Books Dealing With Tough Subjects

I’m back! I haven’t participated in Top Ten Tuesday in a couple weeks because I’ve just had no answers for the topics. I almost thought this week was going to be a no-go, too, but when I got to thinking a little more, I came up with some books!https://mommysreadingbreak.files.wordpress.com/2013/04/ttt3w.jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is a Top Ten Books Dealing with Tough Subjects (abuse, suicide, grief etc or something personal hard for you). I read a lot of Paranormal and Dystopian, but while they deal with tough subjects, I don’t think that’s the main focus. But I got to thinking a little harder, and I have definitely read some.

  1. She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb – I read this in high school, and I don’t remember a lot about it, but I do remember that it was the first book that really unsettled me and made me think.
  2. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult – On the surface, this was a cancer book, which is a tough subject in its own right, but it also deals with family struggles in the wake of cancer and issues of morality and fairness.
  3. The Pact by Jodi Picoult – I think it’s safe to say almost anything by Jodi Picoult can be on this list, and my list will contain several, but The Pact was a book dealing with teenage murder/suicide and suicide pacts, and it was a very emotional read for me.
  4. 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher – This book wasn’t as heavy and heartbreaking as I expected it to be, but it did deal with the subject of suicide, and I found it to be very interesting.
  5. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – This was a wonderful book, but the thought of cancer and teenage mortality really gets to me.
  6. Plain Truth by Jodi Picoult – This book dealt with murder, unplanned pregnancies, and the strict values of the Amish.
  7. Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry – I literally just finished this one, but I thought it was wonderful. It covered death, mental illness, and abuse.
  8. Sarah’s Key by Tatiana del Rosnay – This book dealt with the cruelty that ensued during the Holocaust, and I thought it was a really emotional, great book.
  9. The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton – I read this in junior high and loved it, but it wasn’t until I read it again as an adult that I realized how intense it really was. Drugs, alcohol, poverty, class distinctions, bullying, murder, and suicide, this book really covers a lot of touch subjects.
Tagged:

14 thoughts on “Top Ten – okay, Nine – Books Dealing With Tough Subjects

  1. comehometobooks May 14, 2013 at 10:39 am Reply

    So, here’s why I enjoy following your blog — our tastes are SO similar! I’ve actually read all of the books on your list but TWO. That never happens with other people’s TTT lists! Anyway, you’ve listed some of my favorites. I always love me some Picoult and, of course, TFIOS is a fabulous book that everyone seems to love. It’s easy to see why!

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    • Mommy's Reading Break May 14, 2013 at 11:18 am Reply

      Awww, thanks! I hear you. I’ve checked out a couple other TTTs so far, and I haven’t read any of the books on some of them! lol

  2. Brandy @ A Little of the Book Life May 14, 2013 at 11:11 am Reply

    Technically we have four in common – I put My Sister’s Keeper, then blanketed all Jodi’s books under it. lol Great list… 🙂

    My TTT

    • Mommy's Reading Break May 14, 2013 at 11:19 am Reply

      Ha, that’s a great idea. I could have done that, but then my list would have been even shorter! lol I’ve read 5 of her books, but I kept myself from adding all of them. lol

  3. Amanda May 14, 2013 at 11:57 am Reply

    Ohh My Sister’s Keeper and The Pact – got cut when I was whittling down to the top ten but they are definitely heart wrenching! Have you read Picture Perfect and Perfect Match by her? Those are the two books by Picoult I chose for my list.

    Thanks for sharing!

    • Mommy's Reading Break May 15, 2013 at 4:36 pm Reply

      I haven’t read either of those. I kind of go in spurts with JP. Sometimes her books are just too depressing for me, sometimes they’re just what I want to read!

  4. Natalie (@NatflixandBooks) May 14, 2013 at 12:01 pm Reply

    I read She’s Come Undone years ago, but I remember being unsettled by it, too. TFioS and My Sister’s Keeper are soooo sad. Great list!
    Natflix&Books’ TTT

    • Mommy's Reading Break May 15, 2013 at 4:37 pm Reply

      I read She’s Come Undone probably almost 13 years ago now, maybe 14, so I don’t remember much, but I do remember thinking it was a very sad book overall.

  5. Ula @ Blog of Erised May 14, 2013 at 2:08 pm Reply

    I think TFiOS made every single list today. 🙂 Nice picks.

    My TTT

    • Amy Peveto (@AmyPeveto) May 14, 2013 at 8:08 pm Reply

      I’ve seen The Fault in Our Stars on multiple lists, unsurprisingly. 🙂

      Here’s my TTT for the week. Happy reading!

      • Mommy's Reading Break May 15, 2013 at 4:39 pm

        Yeah, seems like everyone’s adding it. Then again, it was the fact that everyone loved it so much that inspired me to read it in the first place, so I’m definitely not surprised.

    • Mommy's Reading Break May 15, 2013 at 4:38 pm Reply

      I think it probably did, too. I loved how it handled cancer. It was sad, but it was not depressing, and at times, I even found myself cracking up, which you don’t expect in a situation like that.

  6. Jac @ For Love and Books May 17, 2013 at 1:29 am Reply

    MUST Re-Read the Outsiders!! I haven’t read it since Jr High – although I have it on audio (I bought it for DH because he was asking for a YA book I thought he’d enjoy…) Maybe it’ll be my next audio!

    -Jac @ For Love and Books

Leave a Reply

