DNF ARC Review – The 7-Minute Marriage Solution by Stephen Arterburn

  • Title: The 7-Minute Marriage Solution
  • Author: Stephen Arterburn
  • Series: No
  • Source: Received for review from Netgalley
  • Release Date: 5/21/2013

Description from Goodreads:

There are things that bind a couple together—like forgiveness, humor and trust—and things that break their connection, such as grudges, power struggles and unrealistic expectations. This book clearly lays out the blueprint for a successful marriage, informing readers of 7 things they must stop, 7 things they must start, and why 7 minutes of guided devotions and prayer can make such a difference. Research has shown that if couples spend devotional time together at least 4 times a week, they will have a stronger marriage that can last the test of time. Best-selling author Stephen Arterburn guides husbands and wives to strengthen their connection with each other and with the One who bound their hearts together.

Review

I received this book for review from the publisher via Netgalley.

Considering that I primarily read Young Adult Fiction, the fact that I requested an Adult Nonfiction book from Netgalley may seem a little strange. However, I like to read all sorts of things, and I am a married woman. My husband and I have been married for almost 9 years, and we have our ups and downs. We are not on the brink of divorce, but we are also certainly not perfect. I thought that The 7-Minute Marriage Solution sounded like a good read, something that would help make our marriage better and stronger, and I went into it with high expectations.

Unfortunately, it just wasn’t the book for me. First, the blurb on the front talks about “Scientific Research”, but I felt a lot of it came from Christianity. I do believe in God, and I would technically classify myself as a Christian (I guess), but I’m not very religious, and even if I were, I didn’t go into this book looking for or expecting a highly Christian approach.

I will admit that I only made it to 33%. I didn’t even finish the section on 7 Behaviors to Stop. Okay, so at 224 pages, 33% is approximately 75 pages. That’s not much for the most part, but I felt like it dragged. I kept reading sections over and over and was just confused. Most importantly, I felt like what I did read didn’t deliver on its promises. For example, one of the 7 behaviors to stop is having unrealistic expectations of your partner. I don’t know about you, but for me, this was a no-brainer. Obviously, having unrealistic expectations is not healthy for your relationship. However, I didn’t feel like Arterburn gave any solid advice on how to do some of the things he was suggesting. When things are easier said than done, they don’t really help.

I didn’t hate The 7-Minute Marriage Solution, and in fact, I may go back and skim certain sections if I feel they apply to me or my marriage, but it just wasn’t a book that I could sit down and read cover-to-cover.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “DNF ARC Review – The 7-Minute Marriage Solution by Stephen Arterburn

  1. Jeann @ Happy Indulgence May 18, 2013 at 7:43 pm Reply

    Thanks for your review, these books are always interesting. I read YA fiction mostly as well but I really liked John Gray’s “Why Mars and Venus Collide”. Give it a try if you haven’t already!

  2. […] Solution by Stephen Arterburn. I just couldn’t get into it. You can read my DNF review here.  I did finish Dare You To by Katie McGarry (review posting on Friday), my audio of The Iron […]

  3. […] The 7-Minute Marriage Solution by Stephen Arterburn (DNF) […]

  4. […] actually really surprised by this, but it looks like, by views, it was my DNF ARC Review – The 7-Minute Marriage Solution by Stephen Arterburn. I had no […]

Leave a Reply

