ARC Review – In the After by Demitria Lunetta

 

   Title: In the After
  Author: Demitria Lunetta
  Series: In the After #1
  Source: Received for review from Edelweiss
  Release Date: 6/25/2013

 Description from Goodreads:

In this heart-stopping postapocalyptic thriller from debut author Demitria Lunetta, one courageous girl must navigate a world that has been overtaken by Them—vile creatures that are rapidly devouring mankind. Perfect for fans of books like Marie Lu’s LegendIn the After examines a harrowing place where day-to-day survival is never guaranteed. . . .

In what seems like an instant, Amy Harris’s life is changed forever. They arrive and quickly begin killing off humanity one by one. No one knows how they got here—and even worse, no one knows how to stop Them.

Marooned in a high-security house, Amy manages to stay alive—and even rescues “Baby,” a toddler she finds in an abandoned supermarket. For years they escape death, forging a bond as strong as sisters, until they are finally rescued and taken to New Hope, a colony of survivors living on a former government research compound.

On the surface, New Hope is the happy ending Amy was looking for. She’s even started falling for Rice, a handsome researcher she’s become close with at the facility. But then she makes a shocking discovery. And staying in New Hope could mean losing her freedom . . . or her life.

With pulse-pounding narrow escapes and horrifying twists of fate, In the After is an action-packed dystopian page-turner that will keep fans guessing until each secret is revealed and every lie is uncovered.

Review

I received this book for review from the publisher via Edelweiss.

I feel like I’m repeating myself over and over again, but In the After was another book that I heard about on Epic Reads’ tea time. Seriously, it’s a great source for book talk and to discover new books. When I saw In the After available on Edelweiss, I requested it, even though it was out of my normal genre.

In the After is definitely an interesting story, and I wasn’t really sure what to expect. I mean, creatures that are referred to as “They/Them” and eat humans? They could pretty much be anything: demons, zombies, monsters. We are told very early on what they are suspected to be, but honestly, the description wasn’t really important, as they are constantly referred to as Them, and they’re all the more creepy for it.

In the After is broken into 3 parts. The first part focuses on Amy and Baby’s life in the outside world. She refers to the time before the creatures came as Before, and since they came as the After, hence the title of the book. This was a really interesting part of the book because we got to learn a little more about the creatures and see how Amy and Baby manage to survive around Them, especially considering how many people have died at Their hands. Every time Amy left her house in this part of the book, my heart was in my throat, wondering what would happen and whether They would find her. These were some of the creepiest scenes in the book. Part 1 ends when Amy and Baby are rescued and brought to New Hope.

Part 2 is where I thought In the After really got interesting, in my opinion, because the writing style changes a bit. We fast forward 4 months, and Amy is in the Ward, with no recollection of why or how she got there. As she starts to remember bits and pieces of the past few months, we learn what is going on, and we find that things are not all as they seem in New Hope. Certain events take place and are covered up, and the leader doesn’t necessarily want people to question how and why things work. Also, there are some specific rules about how the citizens of New Hope must live, promises they must fulfill, that Amy doesn’t necessarily agree with.

I felt like In the After ended on just the right note. The events of the book are wrapped up nicely, but we also know that there has to be more to the story. We’ve learned a lot more about Them and New Hope, and we know that something needs to be done about the state of the world. I really enjoyed In the After and look forward to reading the next book in the series.

In the After comes out on Tuesday, so if you like creepy creatures and dystopian societies, make sure you grab your copy!

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Advertisements

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “ARC Review – In the After by Demitria Lunetta

  1. […] In the After by Demitria Lunetta (4 stars) […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s