Gayle Forman Read-Along: Sisters in Sanity Week 2

This is week 2 of the Gayle Forman Read-Along, and Judith at Paper Riot is hosting the first book, Sisters in Sanity. Here are the questions, and my answers for week 2, chapters 8-14. (You can see my answers from last week here.)

1. “I can’t think too much about how I got here, because when I do I feel like I’ve been betrayed by you, and that makes me feel worse than everything else that’s happened.” (p. 85) Brit says that she feels betrayed by her father. In which way would she feel betrayed by him? Do you think she should feel this way?

I think it makes a lot of sense that Brit feels betrayed by her father. First of all, he flat-out lied to her. He said they were going to the Grand Canyone, and then he just drops her off at a boot camp style treatment center, after claiming they were looking at a school. Also, she sees herself as a completely normal teenager who is dealing with abnormal circumstances, so she doesn’t think she belongs at Red Rock. Also, unless it just hasn’t been stated yet, it doesn’t sound like her father ever tried to address his “issues” with her, which is something that most parents would typically attempt before sending them away. So, yes, that was a very long way to say that I do think that Brit should feel betrayed

2. Sooner or later, you’re going to have to talk about your mother, about the ways in which her nature mirrors your own.”(p. 117) When Clayton says this to Brit, Brit has a major freakout. Do you think Clayton was right to say this to Brit? Do you think she takes Brit’s mom’s illness seriously? Should she?

So, this is a tough one for me. I definitely think that Clayton should take Brit’s mom’s illness seriously, since paranoia schizophrenia is not laughing matter and can also be genetic. I think it is definitely something that Brit needs to realize and really come to terms with up because there is a chance she could end up like her mom. However, since Clayton seems to be all about beating the patients down and not even a licensed psychiatrist, I don’ think she has any real place dealing with this situation, and I certainly don’t think she addressed it properly. Brit does have to be realistic about any similarities she has with her mom, just in case, but the way Clayton brought it up made Brit feel attacked, which certainly isn’t helping the situation.

3. “Crazy concept. Trusting your child.” (p. 126) Brit says this to V when they talk about how their parents trust the Red Rock instead of their own children. Do you think Brit’s father trusts her? Why or why not? Do you think this is right?

I don’t really feel like we’ve seen enough interaction between Brit and her father yet to really get a sense of whether or not he trusts her, but so far, my instinct is no. I mean, if he trusted her, she probably wouldn’t be in Red Rock right now. Like I said before, it doesn’t even seem like this was a situation they’d dealt with in several ways before dropping her off. As far as whether or not a parent should trust their child, the obvious answer would be yes, but sometimes, people just aren’t trustworthy. If you have a child who is lying, stealing, running away, etc, all the time, it’s going to be a little hard to trust them, you know?

4. At the end of chapter 14, there’s a bit of a cliffhanger. Brit and the Sisters are trying to sneak her out to see Jed. Do you think this will work out? And do you think that Jed will actually want to see her?

Seeing as how we’re quickly approaching the halfway point of the book and haven’t really had any major crises yet, my instinct is to say that no, this isn’t going to work out. I feel like something bad is going to happen, whether that be Brit getting caught or lost or just not coming back in time, I’m not sure, but I just have a feeling that this is not going to be good. I do think that Jed would want to see her, however. If he’s really a good friend and has been writing her all of these letters, I don’t see why he wouldn’t.

5. Talking about Jed and Brit: do you think there is a future for them? From what we’ve seen from Jed, he keeps reminding Brit of Fireflies, but would they work as a real couple, or does Brit just have an innocent crush?

Oh, I hope there’s a future for Brit and Jed! I definitely get the feeling from the little we’ve seen that this is a mutual crush that neither is picking up on from the other. It feels like they’re going to be a couple. Aw, maybe at the end of the book, Brit will get out and Jed will confess his love for her. 🙂

 

Tagged:

One thought on “Gayle Forman Read-Along: Sisters in Sanity Week 2

  1. […] This is week 3 of the Gayle Forman Read-Along, and Judith at Paper Riot is hosting the first book, Sisters in Sanity. Here are the questions, and my answers for week 3, chapters 15-21. (You can see my answers from last week here.) […]

Leave a Reply

