Review – Unremembered by Jessica Brody

Title: Unremembered
Author: Jessica Brody
Series: Unremembered #1

Next Book: Unforgotten (expected 2/25/14)
Source: Personal Purchase

Description from Goodreads:

When Freedom Airlines flight 121 went down over the Pacific Ocean, no one ever expected to find survivors. Which is why the sixteen-year-old girl discovered floating among the wreckage—alive—is making headlines across the globe.

Even more strange is that her body is miraculously unharmed and she has no memories of boarding the plane. She has no memories of her life before the crash. She has no memories period. No one knows how she survived. No one knows why she wasn’t on the passenger manifest. And no one can explain why her DNA and fingerprints can’t be found in a single database in the world.

Crippled by a world she doesn’t know, plagued by abilities she doesn’t understand, and haunted by a looming threat she can’t remember, Seraphina struggles to piece together her forgotten past and discover who she really is. But with every clue only comes more questions. And she’s running out of time to answer them.

Her only hope is a strangely alluring boy who claims to know her from before the crash. Who claims they were in love. But can she really trust him? And will he be able to protect her from the people who have been making her forget?

From popular young adult author Jessica Brody comes a compelling and suspenseful new sci-fi series, set in a world where science knows no boundaries, memories are manipulated, and true love can never be forgotten.

Review

I had seen Unremembered mentioned quite a bit around the internet recently, and I had already had it on my TBR list, but when Jessica Brody came to my area with the Fierce Reads tour, I knew I had to buy the book! After listening to her talk a little bit about her book and learning more about it, I was pretty excited. I even started it while waiting for the train on my way home.

Unremembered starts with the main character, who we soon come to know as Violet because of the unnatural color of her eyes, floating in the middle of the ocean, amidst a plane crash. When she is found, she doesn’t remember anything and thinks it’s 1609. We then fast forward to her in the hospital, though she feels fine. A search to find her family proves fruitless, and she ends up being placed with a foster family.

Honestly, Unremembered started off a lot slower than I expected. We see some minor things, like a mysterious boy who keeps randomly appearing at Violet’s side, telling her that he knows her and that she’s in danger (oh, and that her real name is Sera), and we discover a couple of superhuman abilities, such as being able to do complicated math in her head and run really fast, but the true mystery and action don’t really pick up until about halfway through the book.

Violet/Sera is kind of an odd character, but it makes sense. She remembers very little about her life before the plane crash, and actually doesn’t know very much about things around her, such as a plane or the internet. However, the more we learn about her, the more curious I became. I wanted to know where she came from and what was going on with her. I loved Zen. He’s the love interest of the book, and it’s obvious that he’s devoted to Sera, since he keeps appearing just when she needs him. He’s also mysterious, though. We know very little about him, and you can’t help but wonder how he keeps popping up just where she needs him.

There was a big sci-fi twist towards the end that I totally didn’t see coming, and I thought it was really cool. It really wasn’t what I was expecting at all, and since Jessica Brody mentioned a big twist at the signing, I spent most of the book trying to guess what it was, and I was way off!

The ending was pretty good. I felt like it tied most of the events of the story up but definitely left a big opening for the next book.

Though it took me a little longer to get into than I expected, I thought that Unremembered was a really interesting read with enough mystery and a sci-fi twist to keep me turning. I would definitely recommend it.

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Review – Unremembered by Jessica Brody

  1. Natalie (@NatflixandBooks) June 27, 2013 at 1:16 pm Reply

    I was pretty excited about this book when I first heard about it, but have to admit it got pushed further down my TBR after I read some pretty dismal reviews. I have heard that the book is hard to get into and has a slow start, but it’s good to know the action does pick up. I didn’t realize this was part of a series. Maybe I’ll still pick this one up sometime. Great review!
    -Natalie @<a href=http://natflixandbooks.blogspot.com

    • Natalie (@NatflixandBooks) June 27, 2013 at 1:21 pm Reply

      Sorry @Natflix&Books
      My brain just clicked off for a second or something.

    • Mommy's Reading Break July 12, 2013 at 10:50 am Reply

      I don’t know. I don’t think it was amazing or world-changing, but it was good. I’d say it’s worth a read, but I wouldn’t say that you’d have to move it to the top of your TBR pile NOW! You know what I mean?

  2. Jac @ For Love and Books June 27, 2013 at 1:25 pm Reply

    Oooh! I like when the big twist is totally unexpected! I’ll have to put this on my list now!

    -Jac @ For Love and Books

    • Mommy's Reading Break July 12, 2013 at 10:50 am Reply

      It’s definitely different. It might take you a bit to get into it, though.

  3. […] Unremembered by Jessica Brody (3.5 stars) […]

Leave a Reply

