Gayle Forman Read-Along: Sisters in Sanity Week 4

This is week 4 of the Gayle Forman Read-Along, and Judith at Paper Riot is hosting the first book, Sisters in Sanity. Here are the questions, and my answers for the final week, chapters 22-28.

1.  Brit realizes that they have nothing to fear from the Red Rock. The only thing that’s keeping them back is fear itself. In what way do they fear the Red Rock? What will happen now that Brit is no longer afraid?

I think they feel like they have a lot to fear from Red Rock. They can lose a lot of privileges, and most importantly, be put back in isolation, which is not really good for anyone. All the girls want is to get out of there and to go home, but the more they break the rules and lose Levels, the longer they have to wait. I think that the fact that Brit is no longer afraid is really not a good thing for Red Rock. The less she fears them, the more she can really start to unravel what they’ve got going on.

2. Brit finds letters from her mother and grandmother. What did you feel about them? Do you think there is still hope for Brit’s mother? And how did her grandmother feel about Brit being sent to the Red Rock?

First, I need to say that I was really angry for Brit that her letters were held back from her. It seems like her grandmother really cares about her, and her mom still has her lucid days. I think that there is hope for Brit’s mother, but only if she has enough lucid days to realize that she needs to be medicated. The medication could help her have a lot more lucid days. I got the feeling that Brit’s grandmother was not happy about her being sent to Red Rock, but I’m sure she also realized that Brit’s father was trying to make up for his inability to help her mother.

3. We find out the truth about V. What really happened to her? How do you feel about this? Were you expecting something like this?

I’ve gotta say that after finding out that V basically formed a phobia of leaving the house, I can really relate to her. I don’t let it get to me to the extent that she did, but the more bad things I see or hear about in this world, the more fearful I become of leaving the house by myself. I prefer to have someone else with me when I leave the house. Like I said, I don’t let it stop me from leaving the house, and I do still run errands by myself, but I definitely have that fear in the back of my mind of things that could happen. As I said in my answers last week, I definitely felt like there was something going on with V to make her not want to go home, but I didn’t really predict what that something was.

4. What did you think of the way this book ended? Do you feel satisfied? Were there things you didn’t like that much? What was your favorite part?

I liked the ending of the book well enough, but I kind of wanted more. I’m not even sure what more I wanted, but something. Maybe more about her relationship with Jed, or her dad? I don’t know. I almost always want more. The whole situation with the reporter drove me insane. He was such a jerk! But I knew and liked that he came around in the end.

5.  What is your first thought of Sisters In Sanity? Did you enjoy it? Do you think you’ll want to read it again? If you have read Gayle Forman’s other books, did you like this one more or less?

I really liked this book. I thought the characters were great and the story line was interesting. I doubt I’ll reread it, though. I have to really be in love with a book to want to reread it. I have read one other Gayle Forman book, and it was a while ago, so I don’t really remember enough to compare it. I believe I gave If I Stay 4 stars, which I think I’m also going to give Sisters in Sanity, so I guess about the same?

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Gayle Forman Read-Along: Sisters in Sanity Week 4

  1. Danielle July 11, 2013 at 7:42 am Reply

    It’s so horrible that they hid her letters, I can’t condone it at all, such a horrible place, the ending was a bit quick for me, I wanted more Jed and I wanted her dad put through the ringer! I’m still angry about him! Can’t wait for the next book 🙂

Leave a Reply

