Review – The Last Echo by Kimberly Derting

Title: The Last Echo
Author: Kimberly Derting
Series: The Body Finder #3
Previous Book: Desires of the Dead
Next Book: Dead Silence
Source: Library

Description from Goodreads:

In the end, all that’s left is an echo.

Violet kept her morbid ability to sense dead bodies a secret from everyone except her family and her childhood-best-friend-turned-boyfriend, Jay Heaton. That is until forensic psychologist Sara Priest discovered Violet’s talent and invited her to use her gift to track down murderers. Now, as she works with an eclectic group of individuals—including mysterious and dangerously attractive Rafe—it’s Violet’s job to help those who have been murdered by bringing their killers to justice.

When Violet discovers the body of a college girl killed by “the girlfriend collector” she is determined to solve the case. But now the serial killer is on the lookout for a new “relationship” and Violet may have caught his eye….

Review

I think that The Last Echo was probably my favorite book of The Body Finder series so far. It still had some slow parts, but I felt like there was more going on than in the previous book, especially since Desires of the Dead was a bit disappointing.

So, at the beginning of The Last Echo, Violet is working a case with Sara Priest’s team. She finds a girl’s body in a freezer in a warehouse, who is believed to have been killed by The Collector. At this point, Violet realizes that she wishes she could do more with her power, stopping crimes, rather than just discovering them after the fact.

We meet some new characters in Crystal, Sam, and Gemma. Since they all have abilities, they add some interesting dynamics to the story. We also get to learn a little bit more about Sara and Rafe, which I really enjoyed. Rafe is such a mysterious character that I really enjoyed learning a little bit more about him. We also get to see Violet struggle with her ability, as she tries to figure out a way to make it more useful. The villain is also all sorts of creepy. My biggest complaint is that there just isn’t enough of Jay or Violet’s friends.

I really enjoyed the story line of The Last Echo. I felt like it had more depth and levels to the plot than the previous books, and that there was a lot more going on than I even realized. I also found it to be a bit more creepier. There were moments where I considered putting the book down until the next day. I think I even had a nightmare or two about it. Definitely a spine-tingler for me.

The climax was intense and definitely had my heart in my throat, but the actual ending felt like it’s leading to darker and more dangerous places, and I’m really interested in seeing how everything plays out.

Overall, I really enjoyed The Last Echo. I felt like it was the best book of the series so far, set up the next book really well, and definitely took the story deeper. I would definitely recommend it.

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Review – The Last Echo by Kimberly Derting

  1. Ashley Bodette (@AshleyBodette) July 12, 2013 at 10:29 am Reply

    I LOVE this series! The characters all have such intriguing gifts. I think you’ll enjoy the last book in the series as well, if you liked this one. 🙂

    Ashley @ Book Junkie: Not-So-Anonymous

    • Mommy's Reading Break July 12, 2013 at 10:57 am Reply

      That’s good to know because I was kind of disappointed in the second book. I’m reading some library books first, but I plan on getting to the last book soon!

  2. […] The Last Echo by Kimberly Derting (4 stars) […]

Leave a Reply

