Gayle Forman Read-Along: If I Stay Week 2

Candice at The Grown Up YA is hosting the second book, If I Stay.

1.  Shortly after Kim arrives at the hospital, she goes to the hospital chapel to pray. How does this scene fit in with who she is?

I think it fits very well with who she is. Though she does not seem overly religious herself, she was raised to be religious, so in times of great need, it would make sense that her religion would come into play.

2. In the pages we’ve read Mia begins to realize that it’s up to her if she wants to stay. What’s hard about this decision? Based on what you know so far, talk about where you think she’s at mentally and what her reaction to this knowledge might be.

First of all, I think that Mia is confused. As she says, she has no idea how she would even go about staying if she so chose. However, she’s also completely lost right now. She just lost her parents, and as a teenage girl, especially one who is close to her parents, she doesn’t even know how to begin dealing with this situation, let alone make the decision to live without them. Even as a grown woman, I don’t even know what I would do without my mom!

3. Mia’s parents are definitely different than she is. How do you think their personalities affect Mia?

As we see, I think that sometimes Mia’s parents’ personalities being so different than she is makes her insecure because she just feels so out of place in her family. However, I think that their personalities being different helps her in a lot of ways, too, because it gives her a different perspective to look at the world with. For example, the Halloween scene was totally awesome with her mom helping her out. If her mom were more like her, Mia would have had to go to someone else or possibly not even been able to come up with her Halloween costume.

4. The Halloween scene is one of my favorites – what do you think is significant about this particular scene in terms of Mia and Adam’s relationship?

I love this scene. I liked that Mia was willing to step out of her comfort zone to try to support Adam, but more importantly, I love that he doesn’t really seem to think much differently. Yes, she felt differently, but he has always seen her as that girl, like she was just hiding within Mia’s personality.

5. Mia desperately wants Adam and Kim to be friends, but it’s just not happening for them. Was it surprising to you to see Kim and Adam come together in the hospital? What are your thoughts on this?

Well, I’ve read this book before, but I don’t think it really surprised me. As Kim said, they had Mia in common, and grief and tough times can bring together even the most unlikely of allies.

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “Gayle Forman Read-Along: If I Stay Week 2

  1. Brittany August 2, 2013 at 11:08 am Reply

    Poor Mia!!! I don’t know how I would choose either. That’s incredibly tough and just thinking about it brought tears to my eyes when I was reading!
    I loved the Halloween scene! Definitely my favorite part of the book! 🙂

Leave a Reply

