DNF Review – Across the Universe by Beth Revis

Title: Across the Universe
Author: Beth Revis
Series: Across the Universe #1
Next Book: A Million Suns
Source: Library

Description from Goodreads:

Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.

Review

I’ve seen Across the Universe around a lot, and a lot of people love it, including my good friend, Jac. I’d read the description a few times, and it never really sounded all that appealing to me. But because I had those positive reviews in the back of my mind, when I saw that my library had the audio available, I decided to give it a chance. However, I probably should have gone with my first instinct.

Across the Universe alternates perspectives between Elder and Amy. Amy is frozen at the beginning of the book, and Elder is a leader in training of the ship. However, I didn’t really care for either of the narrators of the audio. I felt like “Amy” talked way too fast, and “Elder” sounded robotic. Also, the very first scene with Elder had me extremely confused, as it takes a very long time to describe who Elder is, or at least it felt that way to me.

After listening to about 13% of Across the Universe in one day, I didn’t pick it up again for over a month. Even then, I really struggled. I considered DNF’ing it several times, but I hadn’t really gotten very far, so I was urged to keep going. I finally got the the big mystery of the book, and yet, I found myself not caring. Even being urged by multiple people to keep going, I just seriously could not listen any longer. I stopped listening to this several days ago, and I’m not really even curious who the villain is or why. Maybe a tiny bit, but not enough to keep going. I am considering possibly trying a print version of this one, but I honestly doubt I’ll ever do it. There just wasn’t enough in the story to pull me in.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “DNF Review – Across the Universe by Beth Revis

  1. lipsyy August 8, 2013 at 10:25 am Reply

    but, but..the cover is so pretty! 😉

  2. […] Across the Universe by Beth Revis (DNF) […]

Leave a Reply

