Review – The Sun Dwellers by David Estes

Title: The Sun Dwellers
Author: David Estes
Series: The Dwellers #3
Previous Book: The Star Dwellers
Related Series: The Country Saga
Next Book: The Earth Dwellers (releasing 9/5/2013)
Source: Won in a giveaway

Description from Goodreads:

With those she’s closest to dying around her, Adele embarks on a secret mission to the Sun Realm to assassinate the President. Along the way she’ll uncover secrets about her relationship with Tristan that she might not be ready to face.

Tristan has a secret, too, one that’s been eating him up inside ever since he met Adele. Will he reveal all, and risk the loss of friendship and love at a time when he needs it the most?

At the same time, Adele’s mother, General Rose, must lead her soldiers into battle to face the sun dweller army in the hopes of holding them off until Adele can complete her mission. Can she outlast the strength of President Nailin’s elite fighting force?

There’s only one truth in their world: someone must die.

Review

Wow. I think that this was my favorite book in the Dwellers saga so far! It was fast-paced, and full of twists, turns, surprises, and revelations. I absolutely loved it!

The Sun Dwellers starts off with Adele, Tristan, Roc, Tawni, Trevor, and Ram in the cave between the Moon and Sun Realms. Very quickly, they encounter Sun Dweller soldiers and have to fight their way out. After that, it’s just them travelling through the tunnels, which was probably the slowest-paced parts of the book, but because I was so anxious to see what would happen, it didn’t bother me at all. Actually, it kind of reminded me of Mockingjay, with a young-ish girl trying to secretly sneak into the Capital city to overthrow the President, but the story itself was very different.

As usual, the characters were their wonderful selves, and I think Tawni and Roc are probably my favorites. Adele had her moments in this one where I wanted to smack her, but since Tristan got his turn for that in the Star Dwellers, I guess that isn’t so bad. lol For the most part, though, she was pretty amazing. I also really enjoyed seeing her learn more about the differences between the Sun and Lower Realms.

The Sun Dwellers was pretty fast-paced for most of it anyway, but at about 65%, the intensity kicked up and never stopped. I think I read the last 35% of it with my heart in my throat. Honestly, there were so many twists and turns and things I wasn’t expecting that I just couldn’t put the book down. At one point, though, I had to stop to collect myself after a certain scene made me sob.

I absolutely loved the resolution and the ending, and I literally had to force myself to read my review book instead of moving straight on to the Country saga. I would definitely recommend this series to fans of dystopian and my place as a David Estes fan has definitely been solidified!

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Review – The Sun Dwellers by David Estes

  1. Katja Weinert @ YA's the Word August 26, 2013 at 12:39 pm Reply

    hadn’t heard of this series before, it sounds fantastic

  2. Jac @ For Love and Books August 27, 2013 at 9:53 am Reply

    I think i need to grab this series!! This sounds like such a fantastic read! (And it’s been awhile since I’ve had a “heart in my throat” book!)

    -Jac @ For Life, Love and Books

  3. […] The Sun Dwellers by David Estes (5 stars) […]

Leave a Reply

