Let’s Talk Series

Hey guys! So, we were camping most of last week, so I didn’t get a lot of reading done. I did manage to finish City of Bones late Saturday night, which was the only new book I finished, and I could have theoretically written that review and posted it today, but I’ve been exhausted all week and just haven’t managed to actually gather my thoughts about it yet. I’m obviously sitting at the computer right now, but I can’t even begin to think about writing a review right now. My kids are sick (luckily, they waited until after vacation, but still), and I’m tired from dealing with them, so I thought I’d do something that required a little less thought. I’ll try to post my review of CoB tomorrow, but it might wait until Monday.

I was reading Jamie over at The Perpetual Page-Turner‘s post about her So Many Loose Ends, in which she mentions how many series she has started and not completed for a variety of reasons. She also asks, towards the end of the post:

 I’m curious if you know how many series you have started but not finished vs how many you have actually finished

As you may know, I went to school and got my degree in accounting, so I really like data and facts, yet this is something I’ve never even thought of! However, it made me really curious, so I decided to go back through my Goodreads and Excel spreadsheets and see if I can answer this question! Also, if I can remember others from the last few years prior to spreadsheet (which starts in August of 2009), I’ll add those in, too!

Series I’ve Finished

  1. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling: Not only have I finished this series, but I’ve read the complete series 4 times. I’ve read the first 2 books 6 times, and I’m about to start the 3rd for the 6th time. I’m doing my own reread and a reread with Alohomora (Mugglenet), so I’ll be back to having read the entire series the same amount of times when Alohomora finishes Deathly Hallows in a few years! lol
  2. Robert Langdon by Dan Brown: I’m saying that I’ve finished this series because I’ve read all the books out until this point. I know that Dan Brown has said that he has ideas for several more books, but since they aren’t confirmed how many books he will or will not write, I’m counting as completed for now.
  3. Soul Screamers by Rachel Vincent: I LOVED this series! One of my top ever, so I plan on rereading it very soon!
  4. The Chemical Garden by Lauren DeStefano
  5. Twilight by Stephenie Meyer: I’ve read this series 4 times. I’ve read Twilight 6 times but have never managed to finish the series again!
  6. Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins
  7. Unearthly by Cynthia  Hand
  8. Matched by Ally Condie
  9. Birthday Trilogy by Brian Rowe
  10. Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer
  11. Anna by Kendare Blake
  12. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
  13. Fifty Shades by E.L. James
  14. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  15. Darcy and Rachel by Emily Giffin
  16. His Dark Materials by Phillip Pullman
  17. Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis: It actually took me two tries to actually finish the series (so I read books 1-4 twice), but I did manage to finish!
  18. Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan
  19. Fear Street Saga by R.L. Stine: This was my favorite trilogy as a preteen/teen, and I’ve read it several times.
  20. Fear Park by R.L. Stine: R.L. Stine was a favorite author of mine as a teenager, so I gave several of his books another chance as an adult.
  21. The Cataluna Chronicles by R.L. Stine
  22. Slightly by Wendy Markham

Series I’ve Started but Not Finished (and Why Not)

  1. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare: I literally just finished the first book of this series a few days ago, and I plan on continuing, but I decided to take a break between books. I’m doing a buddy read right now, and besides, her books are LONG! As of now, I plan on finishing the series.
  2. The Dwellers/Country Saga by David Estes: I’ve been slacking on this. I just finished the first 3 Dwellers books but had other books I needed to read before moving on to the Country Saga. The final book which is a combined Dwellers/Country ending book comes out September 5th, and I’m hoping to finish the whole series by the end of the year!
  3. Ten Tiny Breaths by K.A. Tucker: I LOVED Ten Tiny Breaths and had originally planned to go straight into One Tiny Lie, but when I realized it was more of a companion novel than actual sequel, I decided to take a break between them. I do still plan to read it, though.
  4. School Spirits by Rachel Hawkins: I’ve read the first book, which is the only one released so far.
  5. Whatever After by Sarah Mlynowski: This series isn’t completed yet.
  6. If I Stay by Gayle Forman: I’ve read If I Stay twice now. Originally, I didn’t know there was a sequel, then I wanted to reread If I Stay first. Now, I’m just slacking on reading Where She Went.
  7. Grab Your Pole by Jenn Cooksey: I’ve read through book 3, which is all that’s been released so far. I am dying for the last 3 books, though!
  8. Ghost Time by Courtney Eldridge: Only the first book has been released so far. Depending on how long it takes for the rest of the series, I may or may not pick up the next/rest.
  9. Undercurrent by Paul Blackwell: Again, only one book released so far, but I doubt I’ll pick up the rest. The first one didn’t really do it for me.
  10. Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson: I read the first book and got the second from the library but didn’t feel like reading it at the time. I’ll probably finish this one at some point, but I’m just not sure when.
  11. Bermuda Triangle by Kimberly Ann Miller: Ha! This one tricked me! I read and reviewed Triangles fairly recently and thought it was a stand-alone. As I was looking at my Goodreads shelf to compile this list, I see that it is now listed as the first book of a series. I was not impressed with Triangles, but I may pick up the sequel to see if it redeems itself.
  12. The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting: I won the last book in this series from Epic Reads, so I got the rest from the library. I read them all and liked them well enough but I just haven’t been in a big rush to finish the series. I plan to do that this fall, though!
  13. The Syrena Legacy by Anna Banks: The only reason I haven’t finished this series yet is because Anna Banks hasn’t! I flew through Of Poseidon and Of Triton and can’t wait for Of Neptune!
  14. Unremembered by Jessica Brody: Only one book has been released so far. I’m waiting fairly anxiously for Unforgotten!
  15. In the After by Demitria Lunetta: Only the first book has been released of this one, too. I’m very interested in the rest of this series, though!
  16. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor: See The Syrena Legacy. I can’t WAIT for the last book to come out!
  17. Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza: Only one book has been released so far
  18. The Kindrily by Karen Amanda Hooper: I’ve read what’s been released so far.
  19. Age of X by Richelle Mead: Series isn’t completed. However, I wasn’t hugely impressed with the first book, so I may or may not continue.
  20. Pivot Point by Kasie West: Series isn’t complete, but I loved the first book!
  21. The Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa: I’ve read the first book and the first novella. I’ll probably read more, but I just haven’t been in the mood yet.
  22. Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry: Again, the series isn’t completed, but I am ANXIOUSLY awaiting the last book!
  23. Dualed by Elsie Chapman: I read the first book and wasn’t impressed with it. It was one that I considered DNF’ing, so I probably won’t continue the series.
  24. Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer: I liked Cinder well enough, gave it 4 stars, but I just haven’t moved on to Scarlet yet. The series isn’t completed yet anyway, so I feel like there’s no big rush.
  25. Blood of Eden by Julie Kagawa: I’ve read what’s been released so far. It’s only supposed to be a trilogy, so I’ll probably finish.
  26. Gone by Michael Grant: I HATED the first book in this series and seriously wished I had DNF’d it when I was considering it. I’m a little curious about what else happens but not enough to read 5 more 500+ page books to find out!
  27. Reboot by Amy Tintera: Another series that isn’t completed yet.
  28. The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd: Only the first book has been released so far. I thought it was okay, so I may or may not read the sequels.
  29. Pretty Dark Nothing by Heather L. Reid: Only the first book has been released so far, but I wasn’t impressed, so I’m not sure if I’ll continue or not.
  30. Talented by Sophie Davis: I read the first book as part of a Read & Review. Looks like the series isn’t completed yet, but there are 2 more books I could read. I might get around to it at some point. Honestly, I don’t remember much about the first book.
  31. The Host by Stephenie Meyer: I’m putting this here because The Host is supposed to be a series, but Stephenie has also said that she may not finish writing it, so who knows?
  32. Daynight by Megan Thomason: This series isn’t completed yet, either, but I’ll probably continue it.
  33. House of Night by P.C. & Kristin Cast: I’ve read everything that’s been released so far. I’m starting to get sick of how drawn out this series is, but I’ve invested so much time in it so far that with 2 books left, I’m going to finish.
  34. Bloodlines by Richelle Mead: I’ve read everything that’s been released so far.
  35. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins: I guess these are more of companion novels (or completely unrelated? I’m not sure), but Goodreads has them listed as a series. I read Anna but wasn’t hugely impressed. I plan on reading Lola and the Boy Next Door at some point, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet.
  36. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi: I’ve read what’s been released so far and already have the next e-novella preordered. I want Ignite Me NOW!!
  37. Charity by DeAnna Kinney: I’ve read the first two books in the series, and it looks like the final book was just released in June. Honestly, I found the second book to be a little cheesy, but if it’s only a trilogy, I’ll probably finish.
  38. Hundred Oaks by Miranda Kenneally: I only thought Catching Jordan was okay, but I have Stealing Parker and will read it when I’m in the mood for a light contemporary.
  39. Paige Tailor by Jessica McQuay: Only one book has been released so far.
  40. Penryn & the End of Days by Susan Ee: Series isn’t completed.
  41. Little Orphan Anvil by Joseph Beekman: Even after getting partway into the final book, I just didn’t care. I was bored with the series, so I DNF’d it!
  42. Hunted: Over My Spilled Blood by Joseph Eastwood: The first “book” (short story) was bad, and I only read it as a review for a different blog before I started this one. The stories are all supposed to be unrelated anyway, so I’m not going to bother finishing.
  43. Divergent by Veronica Roth: The only reason I haven’t finished this series yet is because I’m waiting for it to be finished! Great series!
  44. The Seckry Sequence by Joseph Evans: Still waiting on book 2!
  45. Minivan Mom Mystery series by Jim Bronyaur: Only 2 books have been released so far, but if it continues, I will, too. I think it’s a cute concept. (Can you figure out why? lol)
  46. The Lying Game by Sara Shepard: I’ve read the first 3 books, but I decided to wait until the series was completed before reading the rest.
  47. Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard: I’ve read the first 10 books, since that’s all that was out at the time, but like the Lying Game, I decided to wait until the series was completed to finish it.
  48. Little House by Laura Ingalls Wilder: Little House on the Prairie was one of my favorite books as a child, but I never really got into the rest of the series. I tried it again as an adult and still couldn’t get into it, so I probably will never finish it.
  49. The Carrie Diaries by Candace Bushnell: I wasn’t really a fan of this SATC prequel, so I haven’t read any others.
  50. Septimus Heap by Angie Sage: I got through the first 3 books, but then I was just bored, so I didn’t finish.
  51. Sookie Stackhouse by Charlaine Harris: I read the first 10 books because that was what was released at the time. I got kind of bored, though, so I haven’t continued. I may finish the series at some point, but I’m not sure.
  52. Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan: I read the first book right when it was released, but I forgot so much of it that I’ll have to reread it to complete the series, and I just haven’t felt like it yet.
  53. The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott: Only 4 books were released at the time I read this. I don’t remember much of those books, so I figure I’ll do a binge-read at some point
  54. Children of the Goddess by R.G. Alexander: I read the first book in this series, and it was a little too erotica for my liking, so I decided not to continue the series.
  55. Demon Underground by Parker Blue: I actually liked the first book in the series a lot, but the sequel was $9.99, and I didn’t like it enough to pay that much. It’s been more than 3 years now, so I doubt I’ll ever bother finishing it.
  56. Fear Street Sagas by R.L. Stine: This is a long series of books that are completely unrelated. I think I read up to book 8 as a teen before giving up. I read the first 2 again as an adult, and I just don’t like R.L. Stine anymore.
  57. The Boxcar Children by Gertrude Chandler Warner: The first book of this series was another of my favorites as a kid, and I’ve read it about a million times. I’ve even read it several times to my kids, but I could never really get into any of the others. I bought a kindle bundle of the first 12 books, so I may try to read them, either to myself or to the kids, but I know I’ll never finish the whole series. There are over 100 of them, I believe!
  58. Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella: I read the first 5 Shopaholic books, which were all that were out at the time, but by the last couple, I wanted to smack Becky so hard that I couldn’t take it anymore, so I didn’t bother to read Mini Shopaholic, which is the last book as of right now. I don’t know if there’ll be more at some point or not.

Phew, that’s all that’s listed on my Goodreads, so without getting into series I know I didn’t finish as a kid, I’d say this is a pretty exhaustive list! As an adult, I have completed 22 series, and of the 58 I haven’t completed, at least 38 of them aren’t complete anyway. Not too shabby! I will say, though, that I feel like every book is part of a series these days, and it’s getting frustrating. I used to love them because I always knew what I would read next, but now that I have a TBR list a mile long, a few less series would probably help me out a lot!

What about you? Have you found yourself in the middle of tons of series? Do you have a list like this, and if so, are you surprised by how many series you’re actually in the middle of? Let’s discuss!

Tagged: ,

3 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Series

  1. Susan (Bloggin' 'bout Books) August 29, 2013 at 5:59 pm Reply

    I couldn’t do a post like this — it would be way too depressing! I love series, but it’s so hard to stay on top of them. Not to mention wait a whole year after one installment for the next one! I have so many to finish, it’s not even funny. And you’re right — standalones are a breath of fresh air these days.

    • Mommy's Reading Break September 4, 2013 at 9:50 am Reply

      It was kind of depressing! lol But I feel pretty good about the fact that most of the series I haven’t finished are because they aren’t all fully published and not just that I was slacking! lol

  2. […] Let’s Talk Series […]

Leave a Reply

