Top Ten (Eight) Best Sequels Ever

https://mommysreadingbreak.files.wordpress.com/2013/04/ttt3w.jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is Top Ten Best Sequels Ever. I was going to write this last night and post it at my usual 9am time, but I wasn’t sure how others were going to interpret the topic and didn’t want to be the weirdo who did it differently. lol So after checking one out this morning, I realized that I had interpreted it the same way as others, so now I’m compiling my list.

 

  1.       Harry Potter, books 2-7 by J.K. Rowling – I know this one seems like a cop out, but honestly, as I was reading the series, I felt like each book just improved upon the one before. Looking back, I definitely have my favorites and wouldn’t rank them in the order they were written, but I feel like they are all so good that they just can’t stand alone, and I can’t pick just one.
  2.   My Soul to Steal and If I Die by Rachel Vincent (books 4 &5 in the Soul Screamers series) – Soul Screamers is a 7 book series, and while I really, really liked the last two books in the series, they just didn’t compare to books 4 and 5. Those were my absolutely favorites! In fact, even at 348 pages, I managed to read ALL of My Soul to Steal in one day. I liked the series when reading books 1-3, but these two really upped it to one of my favorites of all time!
  3.  Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi (sequel to Shatter Me): When I read Shatter Me, I liked it, but I didn’t quite feel the love that I’d seen a lot of others have. However, Unravel Me was SO much better to me! I loved it so much that it’s hard to believe it’s really as long as it is because I flew through it even faster. I can’t wait for Ignite Me to come out!
  4.  Boundless by Cynthia Hand (book 3 in the Unearthly trilogy): OMG. This was the first series I finished this year, and I definitely started off with a bang! I felt like each book got better in this trilogy (including the novella between 2 and 3), but Boundless was so much better than I even expected. There were revelations and surprises everywhere that had me reeling. This was easily one of the best books I read this year!
  5.  Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins (book 2 in the Hunger Games trilogy): Catching Fire was easily my favorite book in the Hunger Games series. We were already familiar with most of the characters and the world, so that didn’t slow down the pacing. It had similar action with Katniss going back into the games, but this time, there’s a deeper level of distrust, unease, and suspense.
  6.  The Sun Dwellers by David Estes (book 3 in the Dwellers/Country saga): I liked The Moon Dwellers (the first book) a lot. I think I gave it 4.5 stars, but I wasn’t hugely impressed with The Star Dwellers. It got much better toward the end of the book, but for the most part, I felt disconnected from the world I liked so much in the first book. The Sun Dwellers definitely came back from that! It brought back what I liked about the first book but increased it several times. I found a deep sense of dread in the pit of my stomach during the whole book, fearing what was going to come next, and I LOVED that!
  7.   The Other Fish in the Sea and Shark Out of Water by Jenn Cooksey (books 2 and 3 in the Grab Your Pole series): I LOVE Jenn Cooksey, and I love this series! I didn’t know Shark Bait was a series when I first read it, and I honestly didn’t think anything could top it. I’m still not sure anything could top it, but the series as a whole is so great! The Other Fish in the Sea was everything I loved about Shark Bait but with an ending so surprising, I told Jenn Cooksey I hated her! lol And Shark Out of Water, though everything was changed from the previous book, was told from the guys’ perspective, which was so cool. You feel like you get to know the males a lot in previous books, but actually being in their heads just added a whole new level!
  8.   Frost Bite and Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead (books 2 and 3 in the Vampire Academy series): My friend Jac (For Life, Love and Books) recommended the VA series to me. I’d seen it around, and had it on my TBR list after reading Twilight, but I hadn’t gotten around to it yet, so when she recommended it, I picked it up. I liked the first book, but I wasn’t hooked yet. FB and SK definitely changed that! I loved the introduction of Adrian and the building romantic tension, and the twist at the end of Shadow Kiss was one of my favorites of all time (though it devastated me at the same time!). The rest of the series was good, but I just feel like these two are the best of the whole thing.
Tagged:

8 thoughts on “Top Ten (Eight) Best Sequels Ever

  1. Aly (@HeartHeartsBook) September 24, 2013 at 12:19 pm Reply

    I don’t think you can really go wrong with HP 🙂 I added Unravel Me to my list too! I debated whether or not (and I ultimately chose not) to add Catching Fire to my list, but I didn’t like the 2nd or 3rd books as the first one.

    • Mommy's Reading Break September 24, 2013 at 12:26 pm Reply

      There were some other books that I liked a lot, but since I liked them the same or less than the first book, I didn’t add them. Like Insurgent, Siege and Storm, and Days of Blood and Starlight. I liked those all the same as the first books, so I didn’t add them.

  2. Inspiring Insomnia (@InsomniaBooks) September 24, 2013 at 5:56 pm Reply

    I just bought the Harry Potter series, and I hope to get a chance to read them soon! I have Mockingjay on my list, but I could just as easily have used Catching Fire. Both were phenomenal.

    I see you’re reading Eat, Brains, Love. I hope you’re enjoying it! I need to start that soon.

    Stephanie @ Inspiring Insomnia

    • Mommy's Reading Break September 26, 2013 at 9:44 am Reply

      Oh my goodness. Harry Potter is my favorite series ever, and I didn’t even read it as a kid. I was 25 when I first read it! I actually was having a really hard time getting into Eat, Brains, Love, so I put it aside. Unfortunately, it may be another DNF for me.

  3. Xpresso Reads (@Giselleco) September 24, 2013 at 7:41 pm Reply

    Pfft copy out or not HP is the shizz and deserves to be on this list! And I so need to read Unravel me and Boundless!

    • Mommy's Reading Break September 26, 2013 at 9:45 am Reply

      Absolutely on HP! Boundless was so freaking good! I loved it so much more than the rest of the series made me think I would. At this point, if you can, I’d wait until Ignite Me comes out to read Unravel Me. I was so mad when I finished Unravel Me that I had to wait a year for the next book!

  4. bribookishconfessions September 27, 2013 at 10:29 pm Reply

    I definitely agree with Catching Fire and Frostbite! 2 of my all time favorite series! 🙂
    I just finished Shatter Me about a week or 2 ago and I’ve heard Unravel Me is 20 times better! Great top 8! 🙂

    • Mommy's Reading Break September 27, 2013 at 10:58 pm Reply

      Thanks! Oh yeah, Unravel Me is definitely better. I can’t wait for Ignite Me! I’m so in love with that cover, too, that I’ve joked about getting a tattoo of it!

Leave a Reply

