DNF ARC Review – Eat, Brains, Love by Jeff Hart

Title: Eat, Brains, Love
Author: Jeff Hart
Series: Yes
Source: Received for review from Edelweiss
Release Date: 10/1/2013

 Description from Goodreads:

Two teenage zombies search for brains, love, and answers in this surprisingly romantic and laugh-out-loud funny debut novel with guts.

Jake Stephens was always an average, fly-under-the-radar guy. The kind of guy who would never catch the attention of an insanely popular girl like Amanda Blake-or a psychic teenage government agent like Cass. But one day during lunch, Jake’s whole life changed. He and Amanda suddenly locked eyes across the cafeteria, and at the exact same instant, they turned into zombies and devoured half their senior class.

Now Jake definitely has Amanda’s attention-as well as Cass’s, since she’s been sent on a top-secret mission to hunt them down. As Jake and Amanda deal with the existential guilt of eating their best friends, Cass struggles with a growing psychic dilemma of her own-one that will lead the three of them on an epic journey across the country and make them question what it means to truly be alive. Or undead.

Eat, Brains, Love is a heartwarming and bloody blend of romance, deadpan humor, and suspense that fans of Isaac Marion’s Warm Bodies will devour. With its irresistibly dry and authentic teen voice, as well as a zombie apocalypse worthy of AMC’s The Walking Dead, this irreverent paperback original will leave readers dying for the sequel that’s coming in Summer 2014.

Review

This book was received from the publisher for review via Edelweiss.

Zombies typically creep me out, so I tend to not read very many (okay, any, so far, though I’ve bought some) zombie books. However, the description for Eat, Brains, Love said that it was laugh-out-loud funny, so I requested it. Unfortunately, it just wasn’t the book for me I made it to 28% before deciding to just put it down.

Eat, Brains, Love starts off with Jake, a stoner and slacker, late for class, literally running into the school jock and his girlfriend, Amanda. He narrowly avoids confrontation, possibly due to an upset stomach. At lunch, he’s still feeling really off, and next thing he knows, he and Amanda have “zombie’d out” and eaten half their class. From there, they’re on the run. We’re also introduced to Cass, a teenage telepath who works for the government, hunting down zombies and covering up their existence.

I’m not sure exactly what it is about Eat, Brains, Love that didn’t do it for me, but I just couldn’t get into it. It’s told from Jake’s perspective, and I just couldn’t connect with him. By 28%, I have not laughed once and have even gotten a little grossed out at the people-eating scenes. I was really hoping for a funny story, and I’m just not finding it to be that way.

I also found the pacing to be uneven and a bit confusing. Even with a big police chase at one point, I feel like nothing happened. However, I also feel like other scenes are completely rushed through. I’m not sure how I’m supposed to feel about Jake and Amanda, but their being zombies and eating people certainly doesn’t do it for me.

I have seen some good reviews for Eat, Brains, Love, so it’s obviously not a bad book, and I’m not going to recommend avoiding it. However, it just unfortunately wasn’t the book for me, so I can’t exactly recommend reading it either. I think I’ll stick to scary books about zombies, preferably where I’m not in their heads, hearing about them eating people.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “DNF ARC Review – Eat, Brains, Love by Jeff Hart

  1. Susan (Bloggin' 'bout Books) September 27, 2013 at 6:10 pm Reply

    I thought this one sounded really fun, too, but after reading the first chapter, I put it down. If there’s that much language, sexual content and drug-using already, it’s probably not going to be my kind of book, you know?

    • Mommy's Reading Break September 27, 2013 at 10:57 pm Reply

      Definitely understandable. I obviously got further into the book than you did, and I didn’t really find anything funny. Maybe it came later in the book, but I just didn’t care enough to find out.

  2. Jillyn September 28, 2013 at 7:43 pm Reply

    That’s so disappointing. I’m so sorry to hear it wasn’t to your liking!

    • Mommy's Reading Break September 28, 2013 at 8:43 pm Reply

      Thanks. I hate DNF’ing books, but I have so many that I want to read now that I’ve had to make myself DNF so I can actually get to most of them!

  3. […] Eat, Brains, Love by Jeff Hart (DNF) […]

Leave a Reply

