Review – One Tiny Lie by K.A. Tucker

Title: One Tiny Lie
Author: K.A. Tucker
Series: Ten Tiny Breaths #2
Previous Book: Ten Tiny Breaths
Next Book: Four Seconds to Lose (releasing 11/4/2013)
Source: Personal Purchase

Description from Goodreads:

Livie has always been the stable one of the two Cleary sisters, handling her parents’ tragic death and Kacey’s self-destructive phase with strength and maturity. But underneath that exterior is a little girl hanging onto the last words her father ever spoke to her. “Make me proud,” he had said. She promised she would…and she’s done her best over the past seven years with every choice, with every word, with every action.

Livie walks into Princeton with a solid plan, and she’s dead set on delivering on it: Rock her classes, set herself up for medical school, and meet a good, respectable guy that she’s going to someday marry. What isn’t part of her plan are Jell-O shots, a lovable, party animal roommate she can’t say ‘no’ to, and Ashton, the gorgeous captain of the men’s rowing team. Definitely him. He’s an arrogant ass who makes Livie’s usually non-existent temper flare and everything she doesn’t want in a guy. Worse, he’s best friends and roommates with Connor, who happens to fits Livie’s criteria perfectly. So why does she keep thinking about Ashton?

As Livie finds herself facing mediocre grades, career aspirations she no longer thinks she can handle, and feelings for Ashton that she shouldn’t have, she’s forced to let go of her last promise to her father and, with it, the only identity that she knows.

Review

When I finished Ten Tiny Breaths, I immediately wanted to read One Tiny Lie. I downloaded the sample to my kindle and was just about to start it when I got nervous. This was Livie’s story after all, not a continuation of Kacey’s. What if it wasn’t as good? So I put it on my TBR list and moved on to other books, planning to come back to it later. After my friend read and loved Ten Tiny Breaths, we decided to read One Tiny Lie together, and I am so glad that we did!

Right from the start, I knew that I was going to like this book. One of the biggest differences I noticed between Ten Tiny Breaths and One Tiny Lie was the humor. Though I loved how messed up Kacey was, it was nice to not have a completely dark, twisty story again. One Tiny Lie definitely delivered the laughs, and I was very thankful for it. It’s not often that a book can actually make me laugh out loud, but One Tiny Lie did just that.

At first, Livie is kind of annoying. She has a plan, and she’s going to stick to it. She’s inexperienced in almost every way, but she’s also a people pleaser. It made her into a very strange personality. However, she’s hilarious when she’s drunk or even embarrassed. She really struggles with things when she feels they aren’t going her way, and I really felt for her. She’s used to being right on track, always knowing what she wants and how to get it, but suddenly, everything in her life has changed.

Ashton, on the other hand, was amazing. He was an arrogant jerk for most of the book, but there was always something likable and softer lurking on the edges. There is one aspect of his personality that comes up fairly early on, and I hated it. It was really hard to reconcile it with the way I felt toward him most of the time. And it made it hard for me to decide how I felt about him in regards to Livie. Connor, on the other hand, I didn’t like from the start. He seems to be the perfect guy for Livie, and exactly what she’s looking for, and on the surface, he is, but there was just always something about him that rubbed me the wrong way, even if I couldn’t put my finger on it.

Without going into too much detail, since this review is fairly long as it is, I also loved the other characters, except maybe Ty. He was just the token drunk, annoying guy. lol But Dr. Stayner, Reagan, and Grant were great additions to the story, and Eric and Derek: LOVED them!

One Tiny Lie was a very different story from Ten Tiny Breaths, with a very different feel. It did not rip my heart out and stomp on it or make me sob uncontrollably. But it was very emotional. I was sad, angry,  happy, excited, relieved, anxious, disappointed right along with Livie. Though completely different, it was equally as beautiful a story as its prequel, and I really, really enjoyed it.

I did feel that the ending was  bit rushed, and that there were certain scenes that could have been longer or shorter, but overall, I thought that One Tiny Lie was a great story. It did not disappoint me at all, even in comparison to Ten Tiny Breaths, and I would definitely recommend it!

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Review – One Tiny Lie by K.A. Tucker

  1. Jac @ For Love and Books October 5, 2013 at 10:46 am Reply

    I am so incredibly glad we read this one together!! (We should find another book to read together soon… LOL! It was fun!)

    I loved Ashton. He was dark and twisty and a jerk. But I loved him. And I loved how he kept warning Livie off of him!!

    Now? Is the next book out yet??

    • Mommy's Reading Break October 30, 2013 at 1:48 pm Reply

      Me too. I love reading books with you. I like talking about it as we go! So close to Four Seconds now…

  2. […] One Tiny Lie by K.A. Tucker (4.5 stars) […]

Leave a Reply

