Review – Another Little Piece by Kate Karyus Quinn

Title: Another Little Piece
Author: Kate Karyus Quinn
Series: No
Source: Library/Personal purchase

 Description from Goodreads:

The spine-tingling horror of Stephen King meets an eerie mystery worthy of Sara Shepard’s Pretty Little Liars series in Kate Karyus Quinn’s haunting debut.

On a cool autumn night, Annaliese Rose Gordon stumbled out of the woods and into a high school party. She was screaming. Drenched in blood. Then she vanished.

A year later, Annaliese is found wandering down a road hundreds of miles away. She doesn’t know who she is. She doesn’t know how she got there. She only knows one thing: She is not the real Annaliese Rose Gordon.

Now Annaliese is haunted by strange visions and broken memories. Memories of a reckless, desperate wish . . . a bloody razor . . . and the faces of other girls who disappeared. Piece by piece, Annaliese’s fractured memories come together to reveal a violent, endless cycle that she will never escape—unless she can unlock the twisted secrets of her past.

Review

Another Little Piece is another HarperTeen book that I heard about on Epic Reads Tea Time. I had already added it to my to-read list, but after hearing Margot and Aubry talk about how creepy it was and with Halloween approaching (at the time I read it), I decided to get it from my library and read it. Unfortunately, I was a little bit let down.

Another Little Piece started off pretty strongly, with Annaliese emerging from the woods, covered in blood, with no recollection of how she got there, or even who she was. But from there, it moves to therapy sessions and going home with the parents that she doesn’t remember. This is where I felt the book slowed down.

Honestly, though it’s listed as a horror, I didn’t find Another Little Piece to be overly scary or even that creepy. It felt mostly like an amnesia novel, with Annaliese having flashbacks and recovering bits of her memory at a time. Granted, some of her memories were a little disturbing, and a couple in particular are especially disgusting, but again, I just felt like a lot of the tension and dread that I typically experience while reading a creepy book was missing.

I wasn’t a huge fan of the characters. Annaliese was whiny as she tried to remember who she was. Her mother was overbearing, which was understandable, I suppose, but still annoying to read. Logan was irritating, and I never fully understood his story, but I really liked Dex. He was probably my favorite character in the whole book.

Though I found the pace to be a bit slow, and I never felt an urgent need to read Another Little Piece, I also never considered putting it down and not finishing. Though I didn’t find the horror, there was enough mystery in Annaliese’s lost memory that had me interested enough to keep going to the end, to find out the who, how, and why of the story.

I will say that I thought the ending was pretty strong. There were some connections that I didn’t make, and I couldn’t figure out how things were going to end. There just didn’t seem to be a logical conclusion that I could come up with, but I thought that Kate Karyus Quinn came up with a very interesting and appropriate ending.

Overall, I thought that Another Little Piece was okay. If you’re looking for a scary horror novel, I think you’d be disappointed, but if you’re looking for a mystery about a missing memory, you might like it. However, I found Unremembered by Jessica Brody to be better for that, though Another Little Piece has the benefit of being a standalone, rather than part of a series.

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Review – Another Little Piece by Kate Karyus Quinn

  1. Jac (@ForLoveAndBooks) November 16, 2013 at 6:15 pm Reply

    I DNF’d this one 😦 I’m pretty disappointed in that, maybe I’ll actually finish someday…

  2. […] Another Little Piece by Kate Karyus Quinn (2 stars) […]

Leave a Reply

