DNF ARC Review – Parasite by Mira Grant

Title: Parasite
Author: Mira Grant
Series: Parasitology #1
Source: Received for review from Netgalley
Release Date: 10/29/2013

 Description from Goodreads:

A decade in the future, humanity thrives in the absence of sickness and disease.

We owe our good health to a humble parasite – a genetically engineered tapeworm developed by the pioneering SymboGen Corporation. When implanted, the tapeworm protects us from illness, boosts our immune system – even secretes designer drugs. It’s been successful beyond the scientists’ wildest dreams. Now, years on, almost every human being has a SymboGen tapeworm living within them.

But these parasites are getting restless. They want their own lives…and will do anything to get them.

Review

This book was received from the publisher for review via Netgalley.

If I remember correctly, I received an email from Netgalley that Parasite was an Download Now. I read the description, thought it sounded good, and downloaded it. Looking back now, I’m not sure why I thought that. Even before I started reading, I reread the description and though it sounded a little strange, but I decided to give it a shot anyway.

I had an inkling right away that I wasn’t going to like it. It starts off with a recording of two doctors implanting the tapeworm into a patient. From there, we go to Sally Mitchell, who miraculously recovers from a car accident that should have killed her, but she doesn’t remember anything from before the accident.

Honestly, Sally Mitchell’s story line alone was kind of interesting, but it was the other stuff that I couldn’t get through. First of all, she’s at a mall with her mother who is desperately trying to get her to remember things from before the accident. And she sees two people who are staring blankly and walking strangely. I didn’t get far enough to get confirmation, but I’m assuming that these were people whose parasites had started taking over. Sally is terrified, but I honestly don’t get it. The description of them just doesn’t seem that scary to me.

Also, each chapter starts off with excerpts from medical journals and the like about the tapeworm, and I just found these to be tedious. Each time I saw one, I groaned a little internally.

I got to about 19% and was not really into it, so I put it down to read Four Seconds to Lose, but when I tried to come back to it, I could only get as far as 20%. I was just bored, and honestly, the thought of a tapeworm that started taking over its host’s body just no longer sounded appealing to me. I am a little curious as to the rest of Sally’s story, but not enough to trudge through 400 more pages of zombie-like humans and medical speak. Overall, this book just wasn’t for me, so I DNF’d it.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “DNF ARC Review – Parasite by Mira Grant

  1. ocdreader December 6, 2013 at 11:35 am Reply

    Ah bummer, I enjoyed it, but I like that science stuff mixed with body snatcher/host stuff 🙂 But you are right, it is heavy into the science of the thing and what can go horribly wrong from a seeming panacea. Anyway, nicely done DNF review

    • Mommy's Reading Break December 9, 2013 at 6:04 pm Reply

      Thanks! I used to never DNF books, but I’ve made myself to do it so I can read more books. I still feel guilty about it, though!

      • ocdreader December 9, 2013 at 7:03 pm

        LOL – I totally understand that! I end up putting books down thinking I will come back for them later. Then after a little while I send them to the library or something – not really sure who I am “fooling” there. 🙂

  2. […] Parasite by Mira Grant (DNF) […]

Leave a Reply

